Editorial Article: Scientists' Choice Awards winners announced at Pittcon 2020

The 2020 Scientists' Choice Awards celebrate global scientific, technological and communications excellence

04 Mar 2020

The world’s most innovative, exciting and effective new general lab, separations and spectroscopy technologies have been recognized at a glitzy awards ceremony at Pittcon 2020. Winners of the 2020 Scientists’ Choice Awards® for General Lab, Separations and Spectroscopy were announced by SelectScience Editor-in-Chief and Publisher Kerry Parker to an audience of industry leaders and scientists in Chicago. Now in their 13th year, the annual Scientists’ Choice Awards recognize the new technologies which have had the greatest impact on global scientific advancement. More scientists than ever have got involved this year by nominating and voting for their favorite lab products online. Read on as we reveal your chosen winners...

The Cubis® II laboratory balance from Sartorius Group


Best New General Lab Product

The award for Best New General Lab Product of 2019 goes to the Cubis® II laboratory balance from Sartorius Group. 



The 8890 GC system by Agilent Technologies


Best New Separations Product

Designed to deliver the utmost flexibility, reliability and highest performance, the 8890 GC system by Agilent Technologies has been named Best New Separations Product of 2019.



InfinityLab LC/MSD iQ by Agilent Technologies


Best New Spectroscopy Product

Scientists worldwide voted the InfinityLab Liquid Chromatography/Mass Selective Detector iQ (LC/MSD iQ) by Agilent Technologies the Best New Spectroscopy Product of 2019.


Bill Wilson, Agilent Technologies, was presented with two Scientists' Choice Award for Best New Spectroscopy and Separations Products of 2019

Analytical Science Video of the Year - in association with The Scientists' Channel

The winning video, ‘Analysis of pesticides in cannabis products’, features scientist Dr. Nathaly Reyes Garcés, R&D/applications chemist Colton Myers and Business Development Manager, Ashlee Gerardi, all from Restek, sharing their expertise on cannabis testing workflows and method development.

Colton Myers, Nathaly Reyes Garcés and Ashlee Gerardi, Restek Corporation, accept the award for Analytical Science Video of the Year

Analytical Science Article of the Year

This award goes to our fascinating interview with Dr. Claudio Ciferri, head of cryo-EM at Genentech, produced in partnership with Thermo Fisher Scientific and titled ‘Delivering the undeliverable: Enabling structural drug discovery through high-resolution cryo-electron microscopy’.

The HPLC: Improved sample preparation for high-sensitivity analysis eBook, was announced 2020 winner.

Analytical Science Application eBook of the Year

In this new category, the winner is our popular ‘HPLC: Improved sample preparation for high-sensitivity analysis’ eBook, produced in partnership with Sartorius Group. Regina Dubois, Global Campaigns Manager at Sartorius Group, commented; “My colleagues and I are honored that our eBook has been recognized by SelectScience, as we consistently strive to facilitate scientific discovery by providing relevant technical content to scientists. SelectScience is a preferred partner for us, given its strong brand recognition among scientists and its ability to distribute key content to the right technical audiences.”

Analytical Science Email of the Year

BUCHI collects this year’s award for the email ‘How to reduce hazards in chromatography’. 

Wade Hasenour, BUCHI accepts the award for Analytical Science Email of the Year

Analytical Science Webinar of the Year

The winner was ‘Improving Analytical Method Performance Through Quality Risk Management and a Design of Experiments Approach,’ presented by Tran Pham, Business Development Manager at Waters and Joseph A. Turpin, Director, Chromatography Products and Services from S-Matrix Corporation.

Brian Murphy, Waters Corporation, and webinar presenter Joseph A. Turpin, S-Matrix Corporation

Reviewers' Choice – Analytical Science Company of the Year        

This award goes to Metrohm AG for receiving consistently high customer review ratings across multiple products on SelectScience during 2019.

Michael Allen & Rob Harshbarger of Metrohm collected the Reviewers' Choice Award for Analytical Science Company of the Year

Reviewers' Choice – Analytical Science Customer Service of the Year             

Wyatt Technology Corp. wins this coveted award in recognition of its high ratings from customers for after-sales service throughout 2019.

Clifford Wyatt and Geofrey Wyatt of Wyatt Technology Corp. accept the Reviewers' Choice Award for Analytical Science Customer Service

New Seals of Quality

SelectScience also presented two prized Bronze Seal of Quality trophies to VistaLab Technologies for two products that have consistently received multiple positive reviews from scientists on SelectScience.

VistaLab Technologies President, Jim Orcutt, and Director of Sales, Keith Brodnick, received the Seal of Quality awards


Learn more about The Scientists' Choice Awards.