Pioneers in biopharma: Meet the leaders steering the industry on a path that celebrates and supports women
29 Jun 2021

Join us for this one-day virtual event to hear from three amazing thought leaders taking the biopharma industry to new heights. These webinars highlight research and development in process analytical technologies, development of novel modalities, and the integration of emerging technologies to the field of mass spectroscopy.

Presentation 1: Multispecific therapeutic antibodies: Using intact mass characterization to guide strategic decisions in early-stage research

Multispecific antibodies have emerged as powerful modulators of many important disease-relevant signaling pathways. A number of multispecific formats have been developed, each with their own benefits and challenges with respect to efficacy, expression yield, and ease of purification. Formats that employ multiple distinct chains and asymmetric pairing can be especially challenging from an analytical perspective due to the potential for chain mispairing. Characterization of these molecules by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (LC-MS) and analytical hydrophobic interaction chromatography (aHIC) enables identification and quantification of the molecules, respectively. In this presentation, Dr. Kalie Mix will highlight the insights revealed by using a combination of these techniques, which can be used to guide early-stage research decisions.

16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 8:00 PDT

Presentation 2: Process development, characterization, and understanding in an integrated continuous monoclonal antibody manufacturing testbed

Process and product understanding is at the root of manufacturers’ efforts to produce safe and effective medicines. Researchers at MIT are building novel mathematical modeling tools for the manufacturing of biopharmaceuticals based on first principles and data analytics. To experimentally validate these modeling tools and fully understand the impact of model choice on product quality, a fully instrumented and integrated continuous testbed for the manufacturing of monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) was constructed.

17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST / 12:00 EDT / 9:00 PDT

Presentation 3: Symbiotic relationships: The art of collaboration

In this presentation, Dr. Melissa Sherman will focus primarily on the broadly relevant critical success factors that contribute to a win-win collaboration, in this case, between a large, established, industry leading corporation and a small, emerging start-up company.

MOBILion Systems is partnering with Agilent Technologies to integrate its patented ion mobility separations technology, structures for lossless ion manipulation (SLIM), with Agilent’s Q-TOF mass spectrometry platform to provide unparalleled analytical capability, enabling pharmaceutical and academic researchers to make novel discoveries. MOBILion’s first SLIM-based high-resolution ion mobility (HRIM) product, launching in June 2021, is designed to enable fast, efficient separation and identification of molecules other instruments fail to detect, providing, better, faster CQA characterization of biologic therapeutics to bring drugs to market faster.

18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST / 13:00 EDT / 10:00 PDT

Agilent Technologies