Expert Insight: Expand your research skills with these 10 expert webinars

Explore topics from optical spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction, high-resolution ion mobility mass spectrometry, CAR-T cell sensitivity and persistence

06 Jun 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from optical spectroscopy for advancing nanomaterials research and X-ray diffraction to high-resolution ion mobility mass spectrometry and CAR-T cell sensitivity and persistence.

Plus, don't miss out on our latest one-day event in association with MOBILion Systems, where experts in the field of high-resolution ion mobility mass spectrometry discuss the separations technology that promises to fill characterization gaps, bring biologic drugs to market faster, and accelerate biomarker discoveries.        

 
 

BIOPHARMA: Data standards, digitalization, and closing the reproducibility gap in biopharmaceutical R&D

Join us as we explore sources of irreproducibility and discuss efforts to address these problems, including the use of data standards and digitalization. We will take a close look at a case study of a contract research organization using digitalization to address reproducibility issues in cell-based testing for regulatory submissions, as well as a GMP potency assay release test of a commercially approved gene therapy product.

Monday, June 7, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 7:00 PDT

Register here

 

NANOMATERIALS: Optical spectroscopy: Advancing nano-material research with wet-chemical synthesis

Join Dr. Enrico Della Gaspera, senior lecturer and ARC DECRA Fellow at RMIT University, and Travis Burt, global product manager at Agilent Technologies, to find out more about wet-chemical synthesis - a versatile approach for controlling the purity, surface chemistry, and microstructure of nanomaterials using tailored reaction chemistries and processing conditions. Gaspera will explain how this approach enables a move away from vacuum-based processes and so helps to reduce the cost and improve the scalability of nanomaterials and related devices.

Monday, June 7, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 8:00 PDT

Register here

 

SCANNING ELECTRON MICROSCOPY: Advanced biological SEM: Making the most of your microscope

Join Dr. Louise Hughes, Life Science Product Manager at Oxford Instruments NanoAnalysis, as she reveals a range of techniques available to biologists. Hughes will provide examples using different sample types, ranging from plants and tissues to cells and organelles, including medical applications and cell biology.

Tuesday, June 8, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 8:00 PDT

Register here

 

X-RAY DIFFRACTION: Predicting the crystalline nature of APIs with a novel in-line X-ray technique: InsituX

Prof. Gérard Coquerel, head of the Separative Sciences and Methods Laboratory at the University of Rouen Normandy, will illustrate how the precise identification of solid phases and their crystallinity is important for the design of drying, the storage conditions, and the repeatability of the solid transformations regarding APIs, as well as the identification of non-stoichiometric solids and the possible presence of polymorphs of hydrates and anhydrates.

Wednesday, June 9, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

ANALYTICS: Leveraging data analytics to derive valuable insights

Join Dr. David Hardy, Thermo Fisher Scientific, as he reveals the benefits of data analytics and visualization tools and explains how laboratories can effectively use these to optimize their data to drive efficiency and innovation.

Thursday, June 10, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

NEXT-GENERATION SEQUENCING: NGS sample quality control: Solutions for special challenges in next-generation sequencing workflows

Join Agilent Technologies product managers, Dr. Rainer Nitsche and Dr. Kyle Luttgeharm, as they explore the benefits of sample quality control for two specific NGS challenges that researchers may encounter.

Monday, June 14, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

CHEMICAL TESTING: Ensuring product safety with rapid, simplified disinfection control

Monitoring and testing for the presence of disinfectant residues quickly and at appropriate scales is a considerable challenge, as visual inspection alone is not sufficient. Hear from chemical testing expert Dr. Saskia Neubacher, Merck KGaA, to discover the latest instrumentation designed specifically to address these challenges and learn how you can achieve simple and rapid analysis of chemical disinfectant parameters to ensure the safety of your production line after disinfection.

Tuesday, June 15, at 09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST / 13:30 IST / 15:00 ICT / 16:00 CST

Register here

 

ONE-DAY EVENT: Revealing what others leave unseen: The future of ion mobility has arrived

Join us for the virtual product launch of MOBILion’s HRIM-MS platform, featuring presentations by early adopters and beta users of this advanced separations technology, including Prof. John McLean, Vanderbilt University, Dr. Jared Auclair, Northeastern University, and scientists from Protein Metrics. Learn how this technology promises to fill characterization gaps, bring biologic drugs to market faster, and accelerate biomarker discoveries.

Tuesday, June 15, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST /  10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

 

HPLC: A new era of chromatography: Improve your accuracy, sensitivity, and precision with redefined HPLC/UHPLC system technologies

Join chromatography experts from Waters as they introduce a new HPLC/UHPLC solution that is designed to help dramatically improve your data quality and increase chromatographic reproducibility and sample throughput. They will also show you how you can reduce analytical uncertainty, cut operating expenses, and meet your sustainability goals.

Wednesday, June 16, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

 

CAR-T CELLS: Increased cellular avidity upon combining multi-targeting and co-stimulation leads to enhanced CAR-T cell sensitivity and persistence

Dr. Maria Themeli, Group Leader at the Department of Hematology Amsterdam UMC, and Dr. Rogier Reijmers, Principal Scientist at LUMICKS, will introduce a new technology, the z-Movi® Cell Avidity Analyzer, for rapidly screening and selecting the right candidates. Cell avidity measurements enable researchers to observe increased cellular avidity when comparing the CAR+CCR setting to a single CAR-targeting BCMA. Most notably, the avidity data is able to predict the observed in vivo findings. Therefore, this novel opportunity of pre-screening lead CAR products could accelerate the bench-to-bed trajectory significantly.

Friday, June 18, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars and virtual events:

  • Sewers, subways, and space stations: 3 fountains for metagenomic and metatranscriptome discovery: Dr. Christopher Mason, Professor of Genomics, Physiology, and Biophysics at Weill Cornell Medicine, outlines new discoveries in RNA and DNA sequencing across dozens of cities on Earth, including the analysis of wastewater as a means to track SARS-CoV-2 levels, and also explores the investigation of new species found on the International Space Station. Watch here>>
  • Optimize IP-RP method development for oligonucleotide analysis: Dr. Brook Koshel, principal scientist at Waters, discusses method development considerations when selecting an appropriate ion-pairing agent. Koshel also shares tips and tricks for developing efficient methods for ion-pair reversed-phase (IP-RP) analysis of oligonucleotides. Watch here>>
  • Why functional assays are crucial for biopharmaceutical development success: Therese Segerstein and Ali Qamar, of SVAR Life Science AB, explain how functional assays can be used in safe and compliant biopharmaceutical development, focusing on functional platforms for complement assessment and cell-based solutions for the measurement and quantification of drug potency, detection of neutralizing antibodies (NAbs), and assessment of immunogenicity. Watch here>>
  • IVDR and the future of lab-developed tests and clinical diagnostics: For the third webinar in this series, a panel of experts outlines some post-IVDR strategies for laboratory-developed tests (LDTs) and addresses key areas of concern for clinical diagnostic manufacturers. Explore the impact of IVDR on the future of LDTs, including some of the in-house exemption requirements, and its implications for ongoing clinical studies that will end after the date of application. Watch here>>
  • EEM and A-TEEM spectroscopy in pharma, food science, and environmental applications: Dr. Alessia Quatela, product specialist at HORIBA, explores A-TEEM (absorbance, transmission, and a fluorescence excitation-emission matrix) spectroscopy’s ability to simultaneously acquire matrices and correct inner filter effects for a more quantitative method. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>