Editorial Article: Virtual Cancer and Immunology Research Summit 2021: Full meeting agenda

Watch world-leading scientists online, May 11-12, to discover the latest tools and techniques advancing COVID-19 research, immunotherapy development, drug screening, cancer diagnostics and more

20 Apr 2021


SelectScience Virtual Cancer and Immunology Research Summit 2021 logo

The full exciting schedule has been announced for the SelectScience® Virtual Cancer and Immunology Research Summit 2021, launching on May 11, 2021.

Free Registration

 

Now in its second year, the Virtual Cancer and Immunology Research Summit will cover major new developments in cancer and immunology research, from cutting-edge technologies to novel techniques and top resources to advance your work.

Register free now to watch talks by an outstanding lineup of world-class speakers and leading manufacturers, join live Q&As and dedicated networking sessions, explore virtual resource hubs and discover the latest product launches and application news for your area of expertise.

Among those invited to present will be Dr. Chris Halbrook, assistant professor at the University of California, Irvine (UCI), who highlights the significance of the event: "I view this Summit as a great forum to share the research advances of my group with an audience of wide-ranging interests. Much of the success I have had in my career has come through collaborative efforts, and I certainly expect this Summit to lead to some exciting new ideas and interactions."

Register now to reserve your free place and read on to learn more about:

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Genevieve Boland - Virtual Cancer and Immunology Research Summit 2021

Dr. Genevieve Boland

Harvard Medical School

Multi-modality approach to predicting and monitoring immunotherapy response and resistance

  • Prof. Adil Daud, MD, University of California
  • Prof. Ann Ager, Cardiff University
  • Dr. Ofer Sharon, CEO, OncoHost
  • Dr. Noelle Cutter, New York’s Molloy College
  • Dr. Chris Halbrook, University of California
  • Dr. Komal Kumar Javarappa, University of Helsinki
  • Dr. Kirk McManus, University of Manitoba
  • Samer Sansil, Moffitt Cancer Center

Tuesday, May 11

Overcoming T cell homing challenges in CAR-T cell cancer therapies
Prof. Ann Ager, Professor of Cellular Immunity and Immunotherapy, Cardiff University
12:00 (BST) / 13:00 (CEST) / 07:00 (EDT) / 04:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

NMR-based metabolomics in breast cancer research
Dr. Tone Frost Bathen, Head Professor, MR Cancer Group
12:45 (BST) / 13:45 (CEST) / 07:45 (EDT) / 04:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Plasma proteomics predicts response to immunotherapy and provides biological insights into tumor-immune system interactions
Dr. Marijana Rucevic, Scientific Director, Immuno-Oncology, Olink Proteomics
13:30 (BST) / 14:30 (CEST) / 08:30 (EDT) / 05:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

TCR targets validation through T cell activation
Dr. Anna Pasetto, Assistant Professor & Managing Director of pre-GMP facility, Karolinska Institute
14:15 (BST) / 15:15 (CEST) / 09:15 (EDT) / 06:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Multi-modality approach to predicting and monitoring immunotherapy response and resistance
Dr. Genevieve Boland, Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School
15:00 (BST) / 16:00 (CEST) / 10:00 (EDT) / 07:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Scientists' Choice Awards: Join us to celebrate the best new life sciences technologies of the year
SelectScience
15:45 (BST) / 16:45 (CEST) / 10:45 (EDT) / 07:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

New advances in high-throughput drug screening using TrueGel3D® HTS Hydrogel 3D Cell Culture Plates
Nick Asbrock, Product Manager, Stem and 3D Cell Culture, MilliporeSigma
16:30 (BST) / 17:30 (CEST) / 11:30 (EDT) / 08:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Challenge and improve your DNA / RNA sample preparation: An introduction to bead-beating technology
Dr. François d’Hubert, Product Manager, and Dr. Floriane Cohen, Application Scientist, Bertin Instruments 
17:15 (BST) / 18:15 (CEST) / 12:15 (EDT) / 09:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Targeting metabolism to treat pancreatic cancer 
Dr. Chris Halbrook, Assistant Professor, University of California, Irvine
18:00 (BST) / 19:00 (CEST) / 13:00 (EDT) / 10:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Optimizing immunohistochemistry and multiplex immunofluorescence success with antibody validation
Dr. Mike Spencer, Director of Immunohistochemistry and Digital Pathology, Fortis Life Sciences
18:45 (BST) / 19:45 (CEST) / 13:45 (EDT) / 10:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

The impact of COVID-19 on pediatric medulloblastoma: A global response
Dr. Noelle Cutter, Associate Professor, New York’s Molloy College
19:30 (BST) / 20:30 (CEST) / 14:30 (EDT) / 11:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Wednesday, May 12

Profiling of the immune system of multiple myeloma patients at diagnosis and after treatment using mass cytometry by time-of-flight (CyTOF)
Dr. Komal Kumar Javarappa, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Helsinki
12:00 (BST) / 13:00 (CEST) / 07:00 (EDT) / 04:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Proteomic analysis to predict response to immunotherapy 
Dr. Ofer Sharon, CEO, OncoHost
12:45 (BST) / 13:45 (CEST) / 07:45 (EDT) / 04:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Interrogating complex tumors by multiomic spatial profiling
Dr. Anushka Dikshit, Application Scientist, Bio-Techne
13:30 (BST) / 14:30 (CEST) / 08:30 (EDT) / 05:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

One workflow, endless options: NGS workflow solutions
Brigette Brown-Kipphut, Field Application Scientist, Agilent Technologies
14:15 (BST) / 15:15 (CEST) / 09:15 (EDT) / 06:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Cell-based assays to functionally characterize immunotherapy
Dr. Chris Langdsorf, R&D Staff Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific 
15:00 (BST) / 16:00 (CEST) / 10:00 (EDT) / 07:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Identifying and targeting chromosome instability genes in cancer 
Dr. Kirk McManus, Associate Professor, University of Manitoba
15:45 (BST) / 16:45 (CEST) / 10:45 (EDT) / 07:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Get the most from your samples: Higher yields of higher-quality RNA and DNA using the Ionic® Purification System
Lewis Marshall, Director of Microfluidics, Purigen Biosystems
16:30 (BST) / 17:30 (CEST) / 11:30 (EDT) / 08:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Predict anticancer efficacy with a new in vitro 3D modeling platform
Dr. Kolin Hribar, Founder and CEO, Cypre, and Dr. Julia Schueler, Research Director, Charles River Laboratories
17:15 (BST) / 18:15 (CEST) / 12:15 (EDT) / 09:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Targeting tumor mutations with personalized T cell therapy of cancer
Dr. Gavin Bendle, Vice President of R&D at Neogene Therapeutics
18:00 (BST) / 19:00 (CEST) / 13:00 (EDT) / 10:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Evaluating the heterogeneity of B cells and TLS in lung cancer patients for improved immunotherapeutics
Dr. Tullia C. Bruno, Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh
18:45 (BST) / 19:45 (CEST) / 13:45 (EDT) / 10:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Speaker split session:

PD-1 mechanism of action: What do we know?
Prof. Adil Daud, Clinical Professor, University of California
19:30 (BST) / 20:30 (CEST) / 14:30 (EDT) / 11:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Pharmacokinetic services: Tools for cancer research
Samer Sansil, Core Staff Scientist, Moffitt Cancer Center
19:30 (BST) / 20:30 (CEST) / 14:30 (EDT) / 11:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Sponsors

 

Register for free to reserve a place today — you’ll be able to drop in and out as you wish during the Summit.

Watch this space for further updates and follow our social media channels:

Catch up on the latest techniques and technologies and play your part in improving science communication by leaving a lab product review for a chance to win a $400 Amazon Gift Card.

Spread the word using #CancerImmunologySummit