Expert Insight: Don't miss out on these 6 new expert webinars

Explore topics from in vitro diagnostics and advances in COVID-19 sample prep to neonatal hypocalcemia and cytotoxicity assay development

22 Feb 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In our regular weekly feature, we'll be highlighting the exciting and informative events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from in vitro diagnostics and advances in COVID-19 sample prep to neonatal hypocalcemia and cytotoxicity assay development.

 
 

CYTOTOXICITY ASSAYS: How to streamline the assay development of a cytotoxicity assay for high-content compound screening

In this webinar, Dr. Christopher Wolff, FMP Berlin, presents a fast and reliable method to develop a cytotoxicity assay for high-content screening using Tecan’s Spark® Cyto multimode reader with imaging capabilities. 

Tuesday, February 23, 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

Register here

HYPOCALCEMIA: Neonatal hypocalcemia: The role of ionized calcium

In this webinar, Dr. Monet Sayegh, Senior Clinical Consultant at Siemens Healthineers, reviews calcium metabolism, with a focus on early and late onset of neonatal hypocalcemia – including a case report. Both calcium and ionized calcium will be discussed in detail in conjunction with the role of magnesium, serum albumin, phosphate, and blood pH in the proper diagnosis of hypocalcemia.

Wednesday, February 24, 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

Register here

NEUROSCIENCE: Live-cell analysis of human neuron-glial cell co-cultures

In this webinar, Dr. Tom Campbell, Senior Scientist at Talisman Therapeutics, discusses the generation and characterization of fully human iPSC-derived ex vivo co-culture models at Talisman Therapeutics, highlighting the utility and importance of such models to support preclinical drug discovery.

Thursday, February 25, 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

Register here

COVID-19: Profile host responses in COVID-19 patients: Using the ELLA SimplePlex in association with viral load in plasma

Dr. Jesús F Bermejo-Martín, Principal Investigator, Group For Biomedical Research in Respiratory Infection & Sepsis (BioSepsis) at the Hospital Universitario Río Hortega de Valladolid, shares his research group’s investigations into how to effectively profile the host response to COVID-19 infection using the next-generation automated ELISA, Ella. As part of our COVID-19 series, Bermejo-Martin will reveal more about the dysregulated host response and outline whether viral RNAemia or viral RNA load within plasma is associated with severe COVID-19.

Friday, February 26, 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

Register here

GAS CHROMATOGRAPHY: Climbing the peaks of GC intelligence: Discover the smart new features in Agilent GCs

In this SelectScience webinar, George Reiner, Agilent Technologies, will introduce the new features of Agilent GC systems that have been designed to make them more intelligent and easier to use than ever — for increased lab efficiency. Find out how these new features can help keep your lab running productively while minimizing downtime when problems arise. There are two time slots to choose from for this event. 

Wednesday, March 3, 5:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 07:00 PST / 10:00 EST
Wednesday, March 3,19:00 GMT / 20:00 CET / 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST

Register here

MOLECULAR DIAGNOSTICS: Getting ready for In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR)

While the pandemic continues to force many molecular diagnostics manufacturers and clinical laboratories to adapt their operations, the time is fast approaching when they will also need to comply with the new In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR). In this session, LGC will bring you a panel discussion and Q&A with three leaders in the field to help you draw up an action plan for the transition to IVDR.

Thursday, March 4,15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 07:00 PST / 10:00 EST

Register here

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars

  • Ramp up SARS-CoV-2 testing with smart sample preparation solutions: Dr. Beatrice Marg-Haufe discusses how Tecan’s Resolvex A200® can be implemented quickly to significantly increase throughput for labor-intensive extraction procedures and how it’s an alternate, cost-effective solution for sample preparation using filter plates and positive pressure technology. This webinar is part of our COVID-19 series. Watch here>>
  • Evaluating therapeutic antibodies: Quantification of ADCP using advanced flow cytometry: Kirsty McBain, Associate Scientist at Sartorius, discusses how the iQue® Human Antibody-Dependent Cellular Phagocytosis Kit is used with the iQue® advanced flow cytometer to quantify antibody-dependent cellular phagocytosis (ADCP). Watch here>>
  • The 4 lies of high-sensitivity troponin: In part one of a two-part series, Dr. Frank Peacock, professor, associate chair, and research director for emergency medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, highlights the differences between contemporary troponin vs. high-sensitivity troponin. Watch here>>
  • Comprehensive adeno-associated virus critical quality attributes analysis with LC-MS: Dr. Wendi Hale, LC-MS applications scientist at Agilent Technologies, and Dr. Michelle English, customer success scientist at Protein Metrics, highlight a workflow to characterize AAVs at the intact and peptide level. Watch here>>
  • Compliance-ready intact mass analysis of modified oligonucleotides and impurities using the BioAccord LC-MS System: Hear from Dr. Catalin Doneanu about recent work demonstrating the utility of the BioAccord LC-MS system and find out how this system has helped users analyze and monitor a diverse range of modified oligonucleotides. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>