ASSIST PLUS by INTEGRA Biosciences

Manufacturer INTEGRA Biosciences
4.9
/
5.0
  |  14 reviews
Freedom from routine pipetting and excellent results


ASSIST PLUS by INTEGRA Biosciences product image
ASSIST PLUS
Request Pricing

Receive your quote directly from the manufacturer.




Average Rating: 4.9
14 Scientists have reviewed this product

5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
After sales service
5 out of 5
Value for money


Highly versatile.
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area: Setting up high throughput xtal trays and in vitro selection platforms

"Very nice and easy to use. highly versatile. would definitely recommend to others."

Review date: 20 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: University of North Texas



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Most reliable instrument with consistent volume accuracy
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Sequencing Library Prep

"This machine was not only the most reliable with consistent volume accuracy but the user support was above any (including Eppendorf) that my genomics core has encountered. Just amazing!"

Review date: 17 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: University of Michigan



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
10/10 would buy again.
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Sample tube to 96 well plate transfers

"This is the best piece of equipment I have ever had the pleasure of working with. It is very useful and we consistently use it on a daily basis. I would recommend this 10/10 would buy again to anyone interested in purchasing it!"

Review date: 17 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Pfizer



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Very useful in increasing our throughput and improving our consistency between data.
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Cell plating and compound transfer from plate to plate and serial dillutions.

"This product has been very useful in increasing our throughput and improving our consistency between data. Additionally it is very ergonomically friendly and helps free up time for other tasks. It is very accurate and flexible and the programs are very easy to set up and user friendly."

Review date: 17 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Washington University in St. Louis



  • Ease of use
    4 out of 5
    After sales service
    4 out of 5
    Value for money
    4 out of 5
Enabled high quality results.
Rating: 4.0

  • Application Area:96 well plates

"Easy to use, I would recommend it to others. Enabled high quality results."

Review date: 17 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: UCB



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
ASSIST PLUS has been invaluable
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Liquid handling, specifically assay set up where a viscous solution requires routine and precision p

"The ASSIST PLUS has been invaluable in allowing us to accurately and reliably setup assays where precision pipetting of a viscous solution is routinely required. Reproducibility of results have improved greatly with the introduction of automation to our assay setup. After sales care and help has been excellent. Techically skilled representative from INTEGRA have readily made time to come in and help design assays. I would recommend to a friend."

Review date: 17 Dec 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2016

  • Organization: OxSyBio Ltd



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
A huge labor saver; highly reproducible culture and assays on our 3D cellular samples.
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Maintenance and processing of spheroids and 3D cellular constructs

"The Integra Assist Plus has been highly effective at culturing our spheroids and other 3D cellular samples in 96 well formats. It only took a short duration to optimize liquid handling parameters for our workflows. With similar settings, the Assist+ has also been successfully applied to processing samples for fluorescence microscopy and running drug-based assays on our samples for metabolic characterization. The Assist Plus is overall easy to use. For example, it is simple to turn on the device and set up for a liquid handling run (i.e. the placing of the tips, reservoir, plate and waste bag is easy due to the clearly labelled grooves on the base plate). Our team (of 5 people) has found, after a short training session, the liquid handling programs are easy to run using the VIAFLO pipette interface. It should be noted though that some options such as turning the instrument light on/off or placing it into park mode prior to moving are less obvious to figure out. However, these things were quickly resolved by communicating with our account manager. Overall, we are very happy with the Integra which has been a huge labor save and we are now using routine protocols for 3D cell culture dozens of times a week due to the reproducibility of the work. It should be mentioned that early on we did have a problem with our first pipette which had a faulty channel, however, we were given a temporary pipette while a new replacement was quickly provided. Hence, due to the massive labor saving, the reproducibility of the results, the great after care service and the ease of use, the instrument is 5 stars all round."

Review date: 19 Nov 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: UW Milwaukee



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
So far we are loving this machine!
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:qPCR plate set up

"The assist plus was easy to get set up and has been easy to use. The sales rep was very helpful and available for any questions we had."

Review date: 07 Nov 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Mammoth Biosciences



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Fast, user-friendly and reliable.
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Set up molecular biology assays.

"We've been using the Assist Plus for a couple of months to set up molecular biology assays. We've found it to be simple and reliable, doing an excellent job of completing that are just too complex or repetitive for manual setup but too variable or low volume to be worth deploying on a full-scale automation platform. The Assist Plus can be programmed either directly on the pipette to set up simple assays such as dispensing across a plate or reformatting a plate from 96 to 384 wells, or using the Vialab software for more complex experiments Vialab's strength is its simplicity and ability to help you visualize your experiment by showing the exact popping motions that a program will result in. It's lacking programming-style loops, but it's rare that we want to program such complex protocols. In general, it's possible to automate one-off tasks in a few minutes once you get to know the height offsets for your particular labware. Programs are sent to Integra's line of handheld pipettes, which are then attached to the robotic arm to carry out the experiment. The advantage of using handheld pipettors is that they can do double-duty for handheld plate setup when detached from the Assist if necessary. Tips are competitively priced with other high quality competitor tips. Overall, the Assist Plus has been an excellent addition to our lab, reducing error and variation considerably."

Review date: 23 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Institute



  • Ease of use
    4 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Excellent price for an easy to use entry-level robot.
Rating: 4.7

  • Application Area:Immunology, scRNAseq library preparation

"We’ve owned our unit for about a week, but we believe that Integra’s Assist Plus device is aptly named. This machine serves to automate the repetitive pipetting that is often found in scientific protocols, thus reducing the time and effort needed to obtain experimental results. The Assist Plus is designed to be compatible with Integra’s Voyager and ViaFlo pipettes; a pipette slots into the robotic arm and serves to direct the transfer of liquid between three positions in the machine’s base. The base unit is sturdy and well-made, and the moving arm also locks into position to facilitate movement and transport of the machine. Most of our utilization to date has been in programming the unit and assessing the reproducibility of those small programs. After a small amount of trouble shooting we found the included ViaLab software to be very user friendly while still providing a good deal of flexibility and depth. Simple protocols such as a basic plate reformat or a wash step can quite literally be setup in minutes. However, if your protocol has very particular needs to buffer solution delivery volume or do a tip touch - or only enter the well/tube to a certain depth these are all available through simple menus. Output of these self-generated protocols has so far been very reproducible. Pipetting matches the quality of the Voyager or Via-Flow pipettes that are utilized by the instrument (which is to say they are among the best digital pipettes out there.) I will say that a bit of tech savvy is necessary to run the software and upload to your pipettes as well as in pairing Bluetooth functionality etc... (hence the 4 star under ease of use.) However, our rep was able to quickly train my group in all of this and as of yet we haven't run into any additional issues that the product care team weren't able to quickly resolve. One of the advantages this unit has over other much more expensive units is in its flexibility, through swapping out of different pipettes, receptacles, etc... you have substantial control over how things proceed. However, in contrast to these much larger units any reasonably complex protocol will require some level of human input to swap plates or tubes in and out as the only moving part is the pipette/arm. However, for the cost this is still quite unique and powerful. While we are thus far satisfied with our purchase of the Assist Plus, there are a few items worth noting that other users might want to consider. First, Integra’s pipette tips for the machine are currently offered only as individually-wrapped boxes, so the expansion of the catalog to include environmentally-friendly ecopacks would enable customers to reduce the use of both resources and storage space. Second, ViaLab is currently only compatible with Windows, so at the moment Mac only groups would need to consider this. All in all its an excellent device and lives up to the quality that integra is generally associated with. We're looking forward to putting the instrument through more complicated hurdles as time goes on! Overall, we believe the Assist Plus will be a boon to our scientific endeavours, and anticipate an improvement in the accuracy and reproducibility of our results. We look forward to further use and evaluation as our unit, affectionately named Ally Kwat, assists us in our experiments."

Review date: 21 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS


  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: University of Central Florida



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Powerful, easy to use, flexible, affordable liquid handler
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Antimicrobial drug discovery

"1) Extremely flexible, affordable liquid handling solution for multiple applications. Few, if any competitors in this space at the same price point. 2) Intuitive user interface, easy to design custom programs, lots of "smart" features in programming; 3) Great for routine liquid dispensing, 96- to 384-well plate reformatting, serial dilutions, etc. 4) Small footprint , fits easily into standard biosafety cabinet. 5) Increases assay throughput and accuracy."

Review date: 20 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Synthetic Genomics



  • Ease of use
    4 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Great tool for routine liquid transfers!
Rating: 4.7

  • Application Area:Automated filling of 96 and 384 well plates

"We have had the ASSIST PLUS up and running in our lab for a couple of months now, and it has been a great tool for performing routine liquid transfer steps from reagent reservoir to plate or from plate to plate. When coupling the instrument with the VOYAGER Adjustable Tip Spacing Pipette, liquid transfers between 96 and 384 well formats are possible. Overall, the ASSIST PLUS is a low cost entry level instrument, which has become a workhorse our lab, allowing for reliable transfers!"

Review date: 20 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2013

  • Organization: Sorrento Therapeutics Inc



  • Ease of use
    4 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Very useful, Great Value for money
Rating: 4.7

  • Application Area:Cell seeding, dispensing solutions, collecting samples.

"PROS: Assist Plus has allowed us to improve assay variability (especially between users). Also a time saver, for instance to collect 5ul samples from 96well- treatment plates and transfer them to 384 well plates for multiple cytokine measurements. I think this instrument has a lot of flexibility for the moderate price. I like the Simulation feature, very useful. A bit time consuming to set up the programs at the beginning, but worth it, as it is saving a lot of time eventually. CONS: The only negative I find : because we have both ASSIST and ASSIST PLUS, I wish it were easier to use a pipet on both instrument (without the need to re-pair it each time)."

Review date: 20 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS
  • Status:

    Reviewer

  • Member since: 2018

  • Organization: Visiting Physicians Association Laboratory



  • Ease of use
    5 out of 5
    After sales service
    5 out of 5
    Value for money
    5 out of 5
Great product and a huge time saver!
Rating: 5.0

  • Application Area:Mass pipetting of urine and oral fluid

"The Integra Assist Plus has improved our workflow significantly. It cuts down the time on manually pipetting our samples by an hour or more. The Assist Plus itself is very user friendly, as is the software that comes with it. We are able to design programs for any of our pipetting needs after just a few minutes of training. The customer service with this product has been great as well. Within a few weeks of our request, we received a custom rack to hold our test tubes and integrate into our programs. Overall a great product and a very customer friendly company."

Review date: 16 Aug 2018 | ASSIST PLUS

Simply mount an INTEGRA VIAFLO or VOYAGER electronic pipette onto the ASSIST PLUS pipette holder, choose a pipetting protocol, put in your labware and tips and press the run button. ASSIST PLUS will then obtain the protocol via Bluetooth from the VIAFLO or VOYAGER electronic pipette and automatically execute the desired application.

  1. Pipette adapter: works with all INTEGRA mulitchannel pipettes, including VOYAGER adjustable tip spacing pipette
  2. User Interface: protocol setup and selection is done using the pipette’s intuitive user interface
  3. Working Deck: three work positions are available to accommodate reagent reservoirs, tube racks and plates
  4. Automatic tip change: two dedicated postions for automatic tip loading and tip ejection

ASSIST PLUS ensures:

  • precise tip positioning in wells
  • optimal tip immersion depths
  • consistent pipetting angle
  • controlled pipetting speeds
  • no pipetting mistakes
  • strict adherence to pipetting programs

These features eliminate human errors such as skipping rows or air aspiration and hence increase workflow consistency and improve pipetting results.

Product Overview

ASSIST PLUS by INTEGRA Biosciences product image

ASSIST PLUS

Manufacturer INTEGRA Biosciences

4.9 / 5.0 | 14 reviews