Expert Insight: Take your pick of 8 expert webinars this week

Reserve your place today for talks on topics ranging from food fraud, spatial infiltration and CRISPR to antibody and AAV gene therapies

19 Apr 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular weekly feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from advances in food fraud, spatial infiltration, and CRISPR to the development of antibody therapies and AAV gene therapies.

Plus, don't miss out on our upcoming virtual event and the first of 10 webinars in The Orchestrated Lab webinar series. The former focuses on how to accelerate the production of vaccines and cell and gene therapies, while the latter will examine a variety of different laboratory themes to provide you with a holistic perspective on the ever-changing modern lab.

 
 

VIRTUAL EVENT: Accelerate cell bioproduction 

This one-day event will feature three webinars that cover the latest advances in vaccine, and cell and gene therapy production, with exclusive solutions from Corning Life Sciences designed to support accelerated cell bioproduction.

Monday, April 19, at 13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT / 05:30 PDT

Register here

SAMPLE PREPARATION: Simplify life in the lab with the new 8697 Headspace Sampler

Cassie Eisele and Abbey Fausett, from Agilent Technologies, will present this new hardware and discuss the instrument intelligence features released with this instrument. They will also explore two application notes using the new 8697 headspace sampler for USP <467> residual solvents and blood alcohol analysis.

Tuesday, April 20, at 13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST / 8:00 EDT / 05:00 PDT

Register here

DIGITAL SOLUTIONS: Automated science to create the lab of the future

This webinar will discuss how technology-driven strategies can promote success and how automated science is a key driving factor. It the first of 10 in our The Orchestrated Lab webinar series, being run in partnership with Thermo Fisher Scientific - look out for further details coming soon.

Tuesday, April 20, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT

Register here

SPATIAL INFILTRATION: Beyond the basics of image analysis: Image registration and spatial infiltration analysis in HALO

Andreas Theodosi, research scientist, and James Clay, image analysis manager, take a look at the application serial section registration of pan-cytokeratin, estrogen receptor, progesterone receptor, and CD8-stained serial sections of human breast carcinoma samples.

Thursday, April 22, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT

Register here

ANTIBODIES: Discovery and development of antibody therapies for COVID-19

Find out how high-throughput epitope binning and mapping using label-free biolayer interferometry (BLI) detection and advanced flow cytometry systems has enabled the development of an antibody cocktail that can reduce the risk of drug resistance. 

Thursday, April 22, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

CRISPR: Increasing CRISPR editing efficiency with novel guide RNA methods

Join Nicole Ha, Director of Cell Lines Business & Platform Integration, and Dr. Yongwon Kwon, Molecular group lead at Abcam, as they explore the challenges underlying good gRNA design and the relevant tools needed to assist with this process, as well as discussing the recent data from Abcam’s novel dual-guide-based method, showing up to 100% efficiency in CRISPR knockout.

Tuesday, April 27, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

AAV GENE THERAPY: Off-load gene therapy and vaccine buffer exchange to Big Tuna

Joe Barco, from Unchained Labs, will discuss new methods tailored to each gene therapy vector type, and how these finicky samples can now be exchanged and concentrated in a higher-throughput manner with Big Tuna – offering faster and more consistent sample exchange without compromising sample integrity or recovery.

Thursday, April 29, 2021, at 18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST / 13:00 EDT / 10:00 PDT

Register here

FOOD FRAUD: How to minimize the risk of food fraud due to coronavirus

Dr. Bert Popping, Managing Director at FOCOS, will explore the recent developments in the molecular methods field and put these methods in the context of standardization and existing public and private law. 

Friday, April 30, at 14:00 BST / 15:00 CEST / 09:00 EDT / 21:00 PDT

Register here

 

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars and virtual events

  • Leveraging automation technologies to work smarter: This virtual event brings you three webinars from experts in the field of automation who demonstrate how to leverage automated pipetting, sample prep, liquid handling, and cloud-native software to increase your lab efficiency. Watch here>>
  • BioSPME: A new tool for drug-protein binding determination: Dr. Olga Shimelis presents the use of a new product – Supel™ BioSPME C18 96-Pin Devices – for in vitro measurement of protein-binding properties of pharmaceutical compounds in plasma. Watch here>>
  • Impact of new SARS-CoV-2 test method validations in the fight against COVID-19 in the food industry: Methods are now available to monitor SARS-CoV-2 in food production environments and evaluate the efficiency of sanitation processes. Find out more in this expert webinar with Danièle Sohier, senior manager, global scientific affairs – food production at Thermo Fisher Scientific, and Pat Bird, technical consultant at AOAC International. Watch here>>
  • Ask the experts: Addressing challenges in a new era of flow cytometry: Key opinion leaders in the areas of immunology and flow cytometry provide insights and best practices to support researchers on their path to experimental success. Watch here>>
  • Commercial readiness in light of In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR): Join three leaders in the field of in vitro diagnostics as they examine the new responsibilities of economic operators, whether your product is an IVD according to IVDR classification, and explore research use only versus general lab use in relation to IVDs. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>