Expert Insight: 5 top webinars coming up this week

Explore hot topics from 3D X-ray microscopy and in vitro diagnostics to gas chromatography and synthetic guide RNAs

01 Mar 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In our regular weekly feature, we'll be highlighting the exciting and informative events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from advances in gas chromatography and in vitro diagnostics to 3D high-resolution X-ray microscopy, increasing CRISPR knockout and screening efficiency, and accelerating rapid diagnostic development with Optimer reagents.

 
 

GAS CHROMATOGRAPHY: Climbing the peaks of GC intelligence: Discover the smart new features in Agilent GCs

In this SelectScience webinar, George Reiner, Agilent Technologies, will introduce the new features of Agilent GC systems that have been designed to make them more intelligent and easier to use than ever — for increased lab efficiency. Find out how these new features can help keep your lab running productively while minimizing downtime should problems arise. There are two time slots to choose from for this event. 

Wednesday, March 3, at 5:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 10:00 EST / 07:00 PST
Wednesday, March 3, at 19:00 GMT / 20:00 CET / 14:00 EST / 11:00 PST

Register here

MOLECULAR DIAGNOSTICS: Getting ready for In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR)

While the pandemic continues to force many molecular diagnostics manufacturers and clinical laboratories to adapt their operations, the time is fast approaching when they will also need to comply with the new In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR). In this session, we bring you a panel discussion and Q&A with three leaders in the field to help you draw up an action plan for the transition to IVDR.

Thursday, March 4, at 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET/ 10:00 EST / 07:00 PST

Register here

X-RAY MICROSCOPY: Non-destructive characterization of electrospun fibers with 3D high-resolution X-ray microscopy

In this webinar, Dr. Juliana Martins, leader of the X-ray imaging group within the Chair of Microstructured Material Design at Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, will discuss the benefits and applications of 3D high-resolution Zernike phase-contrast X-ray imaging for qualitative morphological characterization of biomaterials.

Tuesday, March 9, at 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 10:00 EST / 07:00 PST

Register here

OPTIMERS: Accelerating rapid diagnostic development with Optimer reagents

In this SelectScience webinar, experts from Aptamer Group and QSM Diagnostics will discuss how this technology is being applied to new assays and targets. Specifically, they will explore how Optimers are developed and implemented in novel assay platforms, the step changes Optimer reagents can bring to workflows, and how these reagents are driving the development of rapid diagnostics for the veterinary and healthcare markets.

Thursday, March 11, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

Register here

CRISPR: Increasing CRISPR knockout and screening efficiency with predesigned synthetic guide RNAs

In this webinar, Dr. James Goldmeyer, Senior Product Manager at Horizon Discovery, will explain how synthetic guide RNAs are amenable to chemical modifications for increased stability, eliminate time-consuming steps of cloning and sequencing, and do not provoke the inherent immune response and cytotoxicity of in vitro transcribed guide RNAs.  

Friday, March 12, at 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 10:00 EST / 07:00 PST

Register here

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars

  • Profile host responses in COVID-19 patients: Using the ELLA SimplePlex in association with viral load in plasma: As part of our COVID-19 series, Dr. Jesús F Bermejo-Martín, Principal Investigator, Group For Biomedical Research in Respiratory Infection & Sepsis (BioSepsis) at the Hospital Universitario Río Hortega de Valladolid, will reveal more about the dysregulated host response and outline whether viral RNAemia or viral RNA load within plasma is associated with severe COVID-19. Watch here>>
  • Live-cell analysis of human neuron-glial cell co-cultures: In this webinar, Dr. Tom Campbell, Senior Scientist at Talisman Therapeutics, discusses the generation and characterization of fully human iPSC-derived ex vivo co-culture models at Talisman Therapeutics, highlighting the utility and importance of such models in supporting preclinical drug discovery. Watch here>>
  • Neonatal hypocalcemia: The role of ionized calcium: In this webinar, Dr. Monet Sayegh, Senior Clinical Consultant at Siemens Healthineers, reviews calcium metabolism, with a focus on early and late onset of neonatal hypocalcemia – including a case report. Both calcium and ionized calcium will be discussed in detail in conjunction with the role of magnesium, serum albumin, phosphate, and blood pH in the proper diagnosis of hypocalcemia. Watch here>>
  • How to streamline the assay development of a cytotoxicity assay for high-content compound screening: In this webinar, Dr. Christopher Wolff, FMP Berlin, presents a fast and reliable method to develop a cytotoxicity assay for high-content screening using Tecan’s Spark® Cyto multimode reader with imaging capabilities. Watch here>>
  • Ramp up SARS-CoV-2 testing with smart sample preparation solutions: Dr. Beatrice Marg-Haufe discusses how Tecan’s Resolvex A200® can be implemented quickly to significantly increase throughput for labor-intensive extraction procedures and how it’s an alternate, cost-effective solution for sample preparation using filter plates and positive pressure technology. This webinar is part of our COVID-19 series. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>