Expert Insight: 4 upcoming webinars to support and advance your research

Gain insights on topics from metabolomics to high-resolution genome libraries, CRISPR innovations advancing translational research, and more

06 Sep 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars.

Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research, techniques and technologies in their fields, from the technical capabilities of IC-MS in the context of untargeted metabolomics applications and the generation of high-quality sequencing data to the CRISPR reagents used for preclinical and translational research and how to create genome-wide libraries of up 25,000 edits.

 

METABOLOMICS: Ion-exchange chromatography in metabolomics: Exploring analytical performance and metabolome coverage

James McCullagh, Professor of Biological Chemistry and Director of the Mass Spectrometry Research Facility at the University of Oxford, will look at the technical capabilities of IC-MS in the context of untargeted metabolomics applications, explore metabolome coverage and report insights into altered central carbon metabolism in disease models.

Tuesday, September 7, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

GENOMICS: Miniaturize to maximize: High-resolution genomic and NGS libraries at a fraction of the cost

In this webinar, Richard Eccles, from the Centre for Genomic Research at the University of Liverpool, alongside SPT Labtech and New England Biolabs, Inc., will demonstrate how the mosquito® genomics enables the automation and miniaturization of the NEBNext® Ultra™ II FS DNA library prep kit, producing high-quality data, increased throughput, and a significant reduction in the cost per sample.

Tuesday, September 7, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

 

CRISPR: Identifying genome-wide targets of osmotic stress tolerance in E. coli using CRISPR-mediated forward engineering

In this webinar, discover how to design experimental methods for studying osmotic stress response in E.coli and create genome-wide libraries of up 25,000 edits, including knockout and promoter substitutions, in an automated, massively parallel workflow. Plus, identify enriched and depleted variants, including genes known to be involved in the osmotic stress response and previously unknown targets. 

Monday, September 13, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

 

PRECLINICAL RESEARCH: Innovations in CRISPR advancing translational research

Explore the key requirements of CRISPR reagents for preclinical and translational research and learn how CRISPR reagents can be used in a variety of applications to provide enhanced specificity without sacrificing cutting activity. 

Monday, September 13, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT

Register here

 

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars:

  • Pleural fluid analysis: Clinical implications of pleural fluid pH measurement and the importance of testing with a blood gas analyzer: Cheryl Frydman, M.D., Director of Clinical Laboratories and Associate Director of Pathology, White Plains Hospital, discusses various clinical conditions where the measurement of pH, as well as other analytes, in pleural fluid is critical to diagnostic decisions. Watch here»
  • Beyond glyphosate: Trace-level analysis of highly polar pesticides in foods: Jim Garvey, Head of Food Chemistry, and Michael Kelly, Senior Chemist, Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Ireland, discuss how these chemicals can be separated into their native ionic form on an ion-exchange column, and how this enables the quantification of polar pesticides by tandem mass spectrometry over and over again for hundreds of injections. Watch here»
  • Targeted DNA integration without double-strand breaks using CRISPR RNA-guided transposons: Join this installment of GenScript's CRISPR webinar series to explore targeted DNA integration without the need for double-strand breaks using CRISPR RNA-guided transposons. Watch here>>
  • Building more useful CRISPR/Cas technologies: This is the final installment of GenScript's CRISPR webinar series. In this session, explore how to build more useful tools to support your research. Watch here»
  • Increasing CRISPR editing efficiency with novel guide RNA methods: Join Abcam's Dr. Yongwon Kwon, Molecular group lead, and Dr. Frank He, field application specialist, as they explore the challenges underlying effective gRNA design and the relevant tools needed to assist with this process, as well as discussing the recent data from Abcam’s novel dual-guide-based method which can achieve close to 100% knockout efficiency. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>