Editorial Article: Virtual Neuroscience Summit 2020: Full meeting agenda

From Alzheimer’s disease to 3D brain modeling: Watch top speakers and connect with leading neuroscience innovators online, November 17-18

04 Nov 2020


SelectScience Virtual Analytical Summit 2020 logo
Reserve your place today and join us online from November 17-18, 2020

The full exciting schedule has been announced for the inaugural SelectScience® Virtual Neuroscience Summit, taking place from November 17-18.

Covering hot topics in neurological disease, neurodegeneration, analytical neurochemistry and more, this groundbreaking online event will feature talks by world-leading scientists and technology innovators, workshops, video interviews, virtual booths, the latest product and application news, as well as live Q&As, networking and live-chat opportunities.

“It is crucial to maintain scientific discourse with the wide research community during the COVID-19 pandemic and this virtual summit provides an excellent opportunity to share our research findings with a large audience.” - Dr. Omer Bayraktar, Group Leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute & keynote speaker

Register now to reserve your free place and read on to learn more about:

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Jonathan Sweedler - Neuroscience 2020 speaker

Prof. Jonathan Sweedler

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

D-amino acids in the brain: What are they, how did they get there and what are they doing

Dr. Omer Bayraktar - Neuroscience 2020 speaker

Dr. Omer Bayraktar

Wellcome Sanger Institute

Mapping human tissue architecture using spatial genomics

Tuesday, November 17

Dissecting the cellular landscape of the Alzheimer's brain: Disease-associated astrocytes
Dr. Naomi Habib, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
13:00 (GMT) / 14:00 (CET) / 08:00 (EST) / 05:00 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Multi-omic spatial approaches for neuroscience
Bio-Techne - Sara Wrobel, ACD Product Manager
13:45 (GMT) / 14:45 (CET) / 08:45 (EST) / 05:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Multicellular tissue models and methods to identify tool compounds for interrogation of novel targets
Malvern Panalytical - Dr. Max Ahmed, Principal Neuroscience Scientist & Dr. Thomas Pesnot, Medicinal Chemistry Research Leader
14:30 (GMT) / 15:30 (CET) / 09:30 (EST) / 06:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Neuroscience applications with 3D cell culture
Corning Life Sciences - Constanza Curotto, Field Application Scientist
15:15 (GMT) / 16:15 (CET) / 10:15 (EST) / 07:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Advances in scalable iPSC culture
SelectScience - Corning Life Sciences
16:00 (GMT) / 17:00 (CET) / 11:00 (EST) / 08:00 (PST)

Add to Calendar

Consistent and scalable human iPSC- derived cells for in vitro CNS disease modeling and drug discovery
bit.bio - Dr. Kaiser Karim
16:45 (GMT) / 17:45 (CET) / 11:45 (EST) / 08:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

D-amino acids in the brain: What are they, how did they get there and what are they doing
Keynote: Prof. Jonathan Sweedler, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
17:30 (GMT) / 18:30 (CET) / 12:30 (EST) / 09:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Once upon a time at the synapse: A tale of early dysfunction in PD
Dr. Dayne Beccano-Kelly, University of Oxford
18:15 (GMT) / 19:15 (CET) / 13:15 (EST) / 10:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Ultra-sensitive quantification of mutant and total huntingtin protein levels
MilliporeSigma - Sarah Hamren, Head of Custom Assays/Sample Testing
19:00 (GMT) / 20:00 (CET) / 14:00 (EST) / 11:00 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Bioengineering 3D brain tissue models for functional studies
Dr. Min Tang-Schomer, Jackson Laboratory & Connecticut Children's Medical Center
19:45 (GMT) / 20:45 (CET) / 14:45 (EST) / 11:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Dynamic clamp: Modeling conductances with the dPatch® Amplifier System
Sutter Instrument - Dr. Gregory Hjelmstad, Product Engineer
20:30 (GMT) / 21:30 (CET) / 15:30 (EST) / 12:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Neuronal degeneration in the hypoglossal nucleus of 22q11.DS mouse models: How advanced optical and electron microscopy can facilitate the discovery process
Prof. Anastas Popratiloff, The George Washington University
21:15 (GMT) / 22:15 (CET) / 16:15 (EST) / 13:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Wednesday, November 18

Detection of Alzheimer's protein biomarker clusterin using graphene sensors
Dr. Shakil Awan, The University of Plymouth
13:00 (GMT) / 14:00 (CET) / 08:00 (EST) / 05:00 (PST)
Add to Calendar

New perspectives in optical microscopy: How artificial intelligence speeds up your experiment startup
ZEISS Research Microscopy Solutions - Dr. Martin Gleisner
13:45 (GMT) / 14:45 (CET) / 08:45 (EST) / 05:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Studying intrinsically disordered proteins using NanoTemper instruments: New insights into tau aggregation
Dr. Andreas Langer, NanoTemper Technologies
14:30 (GMT) / 15:30 (CET) / 09:30 (EST) / 06:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Cholinergic signaling in the basolateral amygdala modulates feeding
Leica Microsystems Europe - Joshua Ortiz-Guzman
15:15 (GMT) / 16:15 (CET) / 10:15 (EST) / 07:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Mapping human tissue architecture using spatial genomics
Keynote: Dr. Omer Bayraktar, Wellcome Sanger Institute
16:00 (GMT) / 17:00 (CET) / 11:00 (EST) / 08:00 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Cellular genetics: Exploring diversity in the human brain
SelectScience - Dr. Omer Bayraktar
16:45 (GMT) / 17:45 (CET) / 11:45 (EST) / 08:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Advancing neurosphere research with 3D cell culture
Corning Life Sciences - Dr. Roxana Ghadessy, Technical Marketing Manager
17:30 (GMT) / 18:30 (CET) / 12:30 (EST) / 09:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Fragment-based screening of PARP15: An orthogonal approach
Malvern Panalytical - Dr. Natalia Markova, Segment Leader, Pharmaceuticals
18:15 (GMT) / 19:15 (CET) / 13:15 (EST) / 10:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Fundamentals of western blotting: Expanding the tools for protein detection
Analytik Jena - Dr. Sean Gallagher
19:00 (GMT) / 20:00 (CET) / 14:00 (EST) / 11:00 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Revealing CNS secrets: Live-cell analysis for neuroscientists
Susana Alcantara, Senior Research Scientist, Sartorius
19:45 (GMT) / 20:45 (CET) / 14:45 (EST) / 11:45 (PST)
Add to Calendar

How to address the versatile challenges of neuroscience: Enhance your research with Bertin Life Sciences’ solutions
Bertin Instruments - Dr. François d’Hubert, Product Manager & Dr. Floriane Cohen, Application Scientist
20:30 (GMT) / 21:30 (CET) / 15:30 (EST) / 12:30 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Overview of Friedreich’s ataxia models: Comparison of frataxin protein levels and phenotype
The Jackson Laboratory - Dr. Cat Lutz
21:15 (GMT) / 22:15 (CET) / 16:15 (EST) / 13:15 (PST)
Add to Calendar

Sponsors

 

Register for free to reserve a place today — you’ll be able to drop in and out as you wish during the Summit.

Watch this space for further updates and follow our social media channels:

Catch up on the latest techniques and technologies and play your part in improving science communication by leaving a lab product review for a chance to win a $400 Amazon Gift Card.

Spread the word using #NeuroscienceSummit