Editorial Article: Virtual Food Analysis Summit 2022: Full meeting agenda

Watch leading scientists online, October 4, to discover the latest techniques, cutting-edge technologies, and critical developments in food analysis research

27 Sep 2022


SelectScience Virtual Food Analysis Summit

 

The full exciting schedule has been announced for the SelectScience® Virtual Food Analysis Summit, launching on October 4.

Covering hot topics such as AI and nanotechnology in food safety, food fraud, food contact materials, and pesticide and mycotoxin contamination, this free-to-attend online event offers an interactive forum for scientists and manufacturers to connect, showcase research, and share technology solutions.

The Summit will host talks by world-leading scientists, live Q&As, video interviews, interactive resource booths, and unique networking opportunities. Attendees will also be able to view academic posters submitted by our global scientific community, leave comments, ask questions, and prompt collaboration through 1-on-1 chat facilities.

Register now to catch the talks that are most relevant to your work, and read on to learn more about:

  • Prof. Gene Hall, Rutgers University
  • Prof. Chiara Dall'Asata, University of Parma
  • Dr. Bert Popping, FOCOS Food Consulting
  • Prof. Salvatore Parisi, Lourdes Matha Institute of Hotel Management and Catering Technology (IHMCT)
  • Rex Simcox, Chattanooga Coca-Cola Co.

Agenda

Tuesday, October 4

Times in bold are shown as British Summer Time (BST)

 12:30

Opening address & Poster session

 13:00
 14:00 (CEST) 
 08:00 (EDT)
 05:00 (PDT)

Characterization of food and drink by Atmospheric Solids Analysis Probe (ASAP) mass spectrometry 

Prof. Gene Hall, Rutgers University
Add to Calendar
 13:45
 14:45 (CEST) 
 08:45 (EDT)
 05:45 (PDT)

Can AI make our food safer?

Dr. Bert Popping, FOCOS Food Consulting
Add to Calendar

Mycotoxins in plant-based meat alternatives: A safety issue or not?

Prof. Chiara Dall'Asata, University of Parma
Add to Calendar
 14:30
 15:30 (CEST) 
 09:30 (EDT)
 06:30 (PDT)
 

Emerging trends and future directions in food testing: Measuring migration from food contact materials

Dr. Yelena Sapozhnikova, USDA-ARS; Cristina Nerín, University of Zaragoza; Tim Stratton, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Add to Calendar

Pesticide residue analysis in cannabis: Method fundamentals and confirmation strategies

Dr. Julie Kowalski, JA Kowalski Science Support, LLC
Add to Calendar
 15:30
 16:30 (CEST) 
 10:30 (EDT)
 07:30 (PDT)

The food packaging synergy: Advantages, safety and integrity risks, and possible solutions

Prof. Salvatore Parisi, Lourdes Matha Institute of Hotel Management and Catering Technology (IHMCT)
Add to Calendar

From the lab to the table – food analysis with Raman microscopy

Andrea Richter, Witec
Add to Calendar
 16:15
 17:15 (CEST) 
 11:15 (EDT)
 08:15 (PDT)
 

Getting out of the weeds: Food pesticide analysis with Agilent GC/MS/MS

Joel Ferrer, Agilent
Add to Calendar

Automated sample preparation for pesticides using QuEChERS extraction and cleanup 

Dr. Hans-Joachim Huebschmann; Chiew Mei Chong, CTC Analytics AG; Gwen Lim, CTC Analytics – session sponsored by Pal System
Add to Calendar

 17:00
 18:00 (CEST) 
 12:00 (EDT)
 09:00 (PDT)
 

Utilizing new and unique GC column selectivities for optimal separation of dioxins, PCBs, and PAHs in environmental and food matrices

Dr. Ramkumar Dhandapani, Phenomenex
Add to Calendar

LC-MS/MS: The key to analyzing PFAS in milk, infant formula, and related food ingredients 

Dr. Lukas Vaclavik, Eurofins Food Integrity & Innovation
Add to Calendar
 17:45
 18:45 (CEST) 
 12:45 (EDT)
 09:45 (PDT)

The wonderful gift of good water

Rex Simcox, Chattanooga Coca-Cola Co.
Add to Calendar 
 18:15
 19:15 (CEST) 
 13:15 (EDT)
 10:15 (PDT)

Poster session

Sponsors

Register for free to reserve a place today — you’ll be able to drop in and out as you wish during the Summit.

Watch this space for further updates and follow our social media channels:

Catch up on the latest techniques and technologies and play your part in improving science communication by leaving a lab product review.

Spread the word using #FoodAnalysisSummit