Industry News: Key considerations in automated nucleic acid extraction for pathogen and genetic screening workflows

Join experts Dr. Catherine Goh and Dr. Uwe Jaentges to learn how to avoid the 7 deadly sins of DNA/RNA extractions

02 Sep 2021


Dr. Catherine Goh and Dr. Uwe Jaentges
Join PerkinElmer’s webinar on automated DNA/RNA extraction on Thursday, September 23

Obtaining reliable results with patient samples is paramount to ensuring accurate and timely diagnosis. Automation in nucleic acid extraction and setup of downstream assays not only reduces hands-on time but eliminates sample variations due to human error, increasing the reliability and efficiency of clinical molecular workflows. However, issues may arise when implementing automation across different samples types such as plasma, blood, urine, saliva, feces, swabs etc.

PerkinElmer is pleased to bring you this webinar which goes over the key factors influencing the quality of automated DNA/RNA extraction and features workflows including pathogen (HPV, SARS-CoV-2, metabiome, bacterial) and genetic (cfDNA-based) testing. Novel data obtained with the new IVD-marked* chemagic™ Prime™ Junior-D instrument for medium-throughput demands will also be shared.

Key learning objectives:

  • Avoid the 7 deadly sins of DNA/RNA extractions
  • How automation addresses challenges in medium to high throughput sample preparation from diverse human matrices
  • Key issues to address when setting up or choosing an automated workflow for your lab
  • See how automation with the chemagic™ Prime™ Junior-D instrument is being performed for pathogen/genetic testing

Attend the live webinar on Thursday, September 23, at either of the following times:

  • 07:00 CDT / 13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST / 05:00 PDT
  • 11:00 CDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST / 09:00 PDT

Duration: 1 hour

Speakers

Dr. Catherine Goh and Dr. Uwe Jaentges
 Dr. Catherine Goh, product specialist at PerkinElmer chemagen and Dr. Uwe Jaentges, portfolio director of all nucleic acid purification products at PerkinElmer

Dr. Catherine Goh

Catherine Goh is a Product Specialist at PerkinElmer chemagen specializing in automated nucleic acid extraction instruments and kits. She obtained her Ph.D. in Singapore from Duke-NUS Medical School and has a Masters in Pharmacology. Catherine was a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Post-doctoral Fellow in the EU-funded RNA-TRAIN network and has nucleic acid-based product management and drug discovery experience in her previous roles in Startup and Pharma.

Dr. Uwe Jaentges

Uwe Jaentges is the Portfolio Director of all Nucleic Acid Purification products within PerkinElmer. He has 16 years of experience within the company and during this time, he has acquired extensive experience in nucleic acid purification and lab automation. He obtained his Ph.D. in Aachen from the Biotechnology Department of Aachen University.

Register for this webinar here>>