Industry News: AACR Academy Governance Members Elected by American Association for Cancer Research

13 Apr 2018

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) has announced the formation of the AACR Academy governance and leadership body.

The AACR Academy was established in 2013 to honor distinguished scientists whose major scientific contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer. Those elected, known as Fellows of the AACR Academy, constitute a global brain trust and are instrumental in advancing the mission of the AACR to prevent and cure all cancers through research, education, communication, and collaboration.

This year, the AACR has established a formal leadership body for the AACR Academy, comprised of an elected President-Elect and six Steering Committee members. Collectively, this leadership body will serve as a voice for the Fellows of the AACR Academy, while providing ongoing advice and counsel to the AACR leadership on timely and significant scientific and policy topics as well as other matters of importance to the cancer field.

Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH, FAACR, member of the 2013 inaugural class of Fellows of the AACR Academy and Director of the Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, has been elected by her colleagues in the AACR Academy to serve as inaugural AACR Academy President-Elect. Dr. Garber will assume this one-year position at the AACR Annual Meeting 2018, and will transition to a two-year term as AACR Academy President at the AACR Annual Meeting 2019. 

“The AACR is absolutely thrilled to announce the establishment of the AACR Academy’s formal governance. This prestigious leadership body, in collaboration with the Fellows of the AACR Academy at large, will provide the AACR with unprecedented scientific expertise and sage guidance to ensure that the AACR remains at the leading edge of cancer research,” said Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), chief executive officer of the AACR.

The inaugural members of the AACR Academy Steering Committee will serve three-year terms. Those elected are: 

  • Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, FAACR, Director of UTSW Harold C. Simmons Cancer Center; Associate Dean of Oncology Programs at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas.
  • Joan S. Brugge, PhD, FAACR, Director of the Ludwig Center and Professor of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School, Boston.
  • Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, FAACR, President & Physician-in-Chief of City of Hope National Medical Center, Duarte, California.
  • Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD, FAACR, Dean of College of Medicine at Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston.
  • Tyler Jacks, PhD, FAACR, Director of David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT, Cambridge, Massachusetts.
  • Karen H. Vousden, PhD, FAACR, Senior Group Leader and Professor at The Francis Crick Institute, London.

The AACR has also elected 12 members to the 2018 Class of Fellows of the AACR Academy, who will be inducted at the Annual Meeting 2018, to be held in Chicago, April 14-18. 

Don't miss the latest update from AACR 2018. Become a free member today.