Expert Insight: 6 webinars to take your research to the next level

Gain insights on topics from laboratory ergonomics, quality control, cell counting, mRNA vaccines, and more

25 Oct 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars.

Register now so you don’t miss out on insights from experts as they discuss the latest research and cutting-edge techniques and technologies in their fields, from the development and manufacturing of mRNA vaccines and state-of-the-art cell counting technology, to sample prep strategies for clinical laboratories, how to improve wellbeing in the lab, and more.

 

CELL COUNTING: Why are new standards in cell counting needed for accurate results?

In this webinar, learn about the benefits of Logos Biosystems' latest automated cell counter, LUNA-FX7TM, including state-of-the-art optics, precision autofocus, sophisticated software with innovative algorithms, and flexible throughput from Karine Labour, EU managing director, Logos Biosystems. Labour will explain how this instrument enables users to standardize cell counting in the lab, provide top tips relating to your working environment, and discuss available options for 21 CFR Part 11 compliance as well as routine quality control. 

Monday, October 25, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

 

LABORATORY ERGONOMICS: Top tips to improve wellbeing in the lab

In this informative webinar, Paulus Artimo, product manager, Sartorius Group, will discuss ergonomic disorders, how to identify them, and the ergonomics involved in routines such as pipetting, lab water dispensing, filtration, and working under a laminar flow hood. Plus, discover the steps you can take to improve your wellbeing in the lab.

Monday, October 25, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 8:00 PST

Register here

 

mRNA VACCINES: Development, manufacturing, and how NanoDrop Eight can help

Join Patrick Brown, product marketing specialist at Thermo Fisher Scientific, to explore a brief history of mRNA vaccines, understand mRNA vaccine development and manufacturing processes, and learn how the NanoDrop Eight Spectrophotometer improves nucleic acid assessment efficiency and provides more intelligent UV-Vis analysis.

Wednesday, October 27, at 14:00 BST / 15:00 CEST / 09:00 EDT / 06:00 PDT

Register here

 

LIQUID HANDLING: Pipetting techniques and avoiding contamination

In this webinar, Julie Kalungi, Corning Life Sciences, will detail why using appropriate techniques is imperative for avoiding cross-contamination. Plus, gain insights into the different types of pipettor, how to employ proper pipetting techniques, and guidance for improving work ergonomics.

Wednesday, October 27, at 16:30 BST / 17:30 CEST / 11:30 EDT / 8:30 PDT

Register here

 

QUALITY CONTROL: Automating Six Sigma, MU, and reagent tracking with IAMQC

This webinar is the final installment of three webinars on internal quality control practices and their application in clinical laboratories. In this session, Ger Kennedy, VP Informatics, Technopath Clinical Diagnostics, introduces the comprehensive internal quality control software, IAMQC®.

Friday, October 29, at 12:00 BST / 13:00 CEST / 07:00 EST 

Register here

 

CLINICAL: Sample prep strategies for the clinical research lab

In this webinar, join Tina Chambers, technical specialist at Agilent Technologies, as she explores and compares sample preparation strategies for clinical research laboratories, ranging from simple dilute and shoot to solid-phase extraction (SPE), with a particular focus on solid-supported liquid extraction (SLE) and enhanced protein precipitation.

Friday, October 29, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 8:00 PDT 

Register here

 

Catch up on these 6 on-demand webinars:

  • Automated proteomics sample prep: Realizing the need for higher throughput, robustness, and standardization: In this webinar, Dr. John P. Wilson, ProtiFi, and Dr. John D. Laycock, Tecan SP, share how to use the affordable, small-footprint A200 and S-Trap™ 96-well plates to quickly and easily prepare samples for proteomics analysis without further method development. Watch here»
  • Freeze drying and sublimation: The importance of precise vacuum technology: In this webinar, VACUUBRAND expert Carsten Ruth explains why precise vacuum is crucial in freeze drying and sublimation, and why too low pressure is counterproductive. Plus, receive valuable advice on how to achieve optimum results and process times, and how to effectively protect your vacuum pump from wear.  Watch here»
  • Fast forward to actionable results with rapid AST technology: Dr. Tiziana Di Martino, Chief Medical Officer of Q-linea, explains how clinical microbiology labs can fast forward to actionable results with a brand new rapid antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) technology, and describes how clinical diagnostics are being used to address the dangers of sepsis and antimicrobial resistance (AMR)Watch here»
  • Detection of functional antibodies against SARS-CoV-2 nucleoprotein: Watch this webinar to hear from Dr. Anna Albecka-Moreau, Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, who will highlight the potential benefits of nucleoprotein (N)-based vaccines and outline an in vitro assay that enables the antibodies they induce to be tested.  Watch here» 
  • Optimizing cryopreserved tissue samples using cell sorting to study cellular heterogeneity: In this webinar, Dr. Shawn Fahl, Discovery Life Sciences, describes how the dissociation and cryopreservation of primary solid tissues can accelerate preclinical pipelines and discusses the latest approaches used in downstream single-cell applications Watch here»
  • Is that a live cell or cell debris? Cell viability meets product purity:  In this webinar, Dr. Bernardo Cordovez shows how high-throughput, backgrounded membrane imaging and fluorescence membrane microscopy enables the measurement of cell viability and foreign particle impurities quickly and accurately, in a single workflow. Watch here»

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on-demand, find out more here>>