Expert Insight: Explore the latest webinars to expand your research knowledge

Discover the latest tools and techniques to expand your research capacity with expert-led presentations on the world of microbiomes, best practices for 2D-LC, applications of live-cell imaging, and more

03 Oct 2022


Upcoming SelectScience Webinars

SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. 

This week, learn how to obtain thorough homogenization and lysis of any microorganism from samples used in microbiome research, get an overview of 2D-LC instrumentation, and discover an assay to investigate the inhibition of Akt activity in cancer cell lines stably expressing the Kinase Akt biosensor.

Exploring the world of microbiomes – Insights of state-of-the-art solutions for metagenomic approaches

DNA double helix

To explore the natural microbial community of any ecosystem by high-resolution molecular approaches, it is extremely important to develop sensitive and reproducible nucleic acid extraction methods. In this webinar, learn how to obtain thorough homogenization and lysis of any microorganism from samples used in microbiome research. Plus, discover how the FastDNA™ SPIN Kit for Soil from MP Biomedicals can be used for DNA extraction and microbiome sequencing. 

Tuesday, October 4, at 13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT / 05:30 PDT

 

Register here

 

Solutions and best practices for 2D-LC

Close up of the pumps on a HPLC system

In this webinar, get an overview of 2D-LC instrumentation for multi-heart cutting and comprehensive 2D-LC. Gain tips on how to deal with discrepancies between mobile phase dimensions and what to consider for column re-equilibration, detection, and minimizing additional column dispersion. Plus, hear small molecule application examples from different industries and method development case studies.

Wednesday, October 5 at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08: 00 PDT

 

Register here

 

Real-time visualization and quantification of Akt activity using live-cell imaging

Human cells imaged with a flow cytometer

Akt is a serine/threonine protein kinase that is upregulated across various diseases and has been extensively studied as a therapeutic target. In this webinar, John Rauch, senior scientist at Sartorius, and Jasmine Trigg, scientist at Sartorius, will demonstrate the utility of the Incucyte® Kinase Akt Lentivirus Reagent. This biosensor enables Akt activity to be monitored in real-time, providing kinetic data on Akt activation and inhibition in living cells within a physiologically relevant environment.

Thursday, October 6, 2022, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST

 

Register here

 

Watch our webinars at a time that suits you

Missed one of our webinars? Fortunately, all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand after the live event. Catch up on some of our latest webinars below: 

The value of molecular controls for validation and routine monitoring in an accredited lab

Watch here»

Genome-wide association study on 13,167 individuals identifies regulators of blood CD34+ cell levels

Watch here»

How to seamlessly integrate the supply of purified water in new laboratory construction

Watch here»

Tools to streamline cell line development for biotherapeutics

Watch here»

Comprehensive vehicle emissions testing using thermal desorption (TD) and GC×GC–TOF MS

Watch here»

Natriuretic peptides and heart failure: Clinical practice application now and in the future

Watch here»

The importance of gold standard partnerships in conducting large scale cancer screening studies

Watch  here» 

Total Process Control - Sepsis

Watch here»

 

SelectScience runs 10+ webinars a month across various scientific topics, discover more of our upcoming webinars>>