Expert Insight: 11 expert webinars coming up this week

Explore topics from perfume profiling, salmonella spp. detection, regulatory biopharma compliance, and in situ hybridization

17 May 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular weekly feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from perfume profiling and salmonella spp. detection to meeting regulatory compliance for biopharma and understanding the biological complexity of tissues with integrated imaging and analysis.

Plus, don't miss out on the second of 10 webinars in The Orchestrated Lab webinar series, where James Pena, Thermo Fisher Scientific, discusses the benefits of adopting cloud-based solutions in the modern lab.

 
 

BIOLOGICAL SAFETY: Form follows function: Working with, not against, your biosafety cabinet

This webinar first explains the basic functioning of a Class II, Type A2 biosafety cabinet and how it provides protection. The presentation then proceeds to explain how, in light of that knowledge, a cabinet operator should work in the cabinet so as not to interfere with the airflow and other features that provide biocontainment for that operator.

Monday, May 17, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 8:00 PDT

Register here

FRAGRANCE PROFILING: Evaluating the authenticity of brand perfumes using GC×GC–TOF MS

Dr. Laura McGregor, from SepSolve Analytical, will show how the comprehensive data acquired using GC×GC–TOF MS, coupled with easy-to-use chemometrics software, can deliver fast and confident fragrance profiling.

Tuesday, May 18, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

IN SITU HYBRIDIZATION: Use of RNAscope technology to study reproductive health and dysfunction in the rodent central nervous system

Dr. Lique Coolen and Dr. Aleisha Moore, from Kent State University, will discuss how they have integrated powerful RNAscope in situ hybridization technology in their research to study the mechanisms underlying spinal cord injury and neuroendocrine dysfunction.

Tuesday, May 18, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

CLOUD-BASED TECHNOLOGY: The benefits of adopting cloud-based solutions

James Pena, Thermo Fisher Scientific, will discuss: how the adoption of cloud-based solutions is influencing the industry; the major benefits of a cloud infrastructure; strategies for customer or vendor-managed cloud deployments; processes and strategies to move existing infrastructure to the cloud; and real-world cloud deployment examples.

Wednesday, May 19, 2021 | 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

PCR: A serotype-specific PCR method for detecting Salmonella spp. in poultry

Dr. Frieda Jørgensen outlines the current investigation of Salmonella Enteritidis, sharing how RapidFinder PCR enables rapid detection of contaminated products. Jørgensen highlights how this method can be applied to primary and secondary enrichments and the confirmation of isolates and why this method was especially important in analyzing products that were co-contaminated with other serovars where the presence of Salmonella Enteritidis was realized only as a result of the PCR.

Thursday, May 20, at 18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST / 13:00 EDT / 10:00 PDT

Register here

MASS SPECTROMETRY: Meet regulatory compliance for biopharma with new mass spec software solutions

Join Robert Ley, MassHunter Compliance Software Product Manager at Agilent Technologies, as he explores the current regulatory landscape and how new mass spectrometry software updates can enable you to address data integrity and meet regulatory requirements, such as US FDA 21 CFR Part 11 and EU Annex 11.

Friday, May 21, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

LAB ESSENTIALS: Weighing excellence in the lab: Choosing the right analytical balance

Christian Weidner reveals the surprises of the Entris® II balance and how it can help you achieve weighing excellence, no matter the material involved. Weidner will also show how the balance generates accurate and consistent results, while promising users unrivaled value.

Friday, May 21, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

LC-MS: Leveraging the power of core-shell LC particles to improve micro- and nanoflow separations

Jason Anspach, from Phenomenex, will demonstrate how the use of core-shell-based HPLC materials, long known to significantly improve efficiency in analytical HPLC, can be used in micro- and nanoscale LC-MS analysis to improve separation quality and provide better sensitivities.

Tuesday, May 25, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

IMAGING: Understanding the biological complexity of tissues with integrated imaging and analysis

Dr. Stephanie Ling, Associate Principal Scientist at AstraZeneca, will explore how the integration of Imaging Mass Cytometry™ (IMC™) with other established molecular imaging modalities, including histology and mass spectrometry imaging, can enable insight into the biological complexity of tissues and pathophysiological processes. 

Tuesday, May 25, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

METROLOGY: Results you can trust: Minimizing weight measurement uncertainty

Join Holger Densow, weighing expert, and Julian Haller, metrology engineer, to discover how to obtain reliable, accurate, and consistent weighing results. The webinar will outline the theory of measurement uncertainty, discuss the European Associate of National Metrology Institute (EURAMET) cg-18, and explore USP Chapter 41 (USP41).

Wednesday, May 26, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

NANOPORE SEQUENCING: NGS sample quality control: Comparison of different methods to isolate high-molecular weight DNA from bacteria for Nanopore sequencing

Join Dr. Christina Engesser, Technical Lab Manager at the NGS Competence Center, Tuebingen, and Dr. Solange Borg, Product Manager at Agilent Technologies, as they discuss how to achieve optimal sequencing results by determining quality and size of input DNA and why proper isolation of high-quality DNA is crucial for successful Nanopore sequencing.

Friday, May 28, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EST / 8:00 PST

Register here

 

Catch up on these 4 on-demand webinars and virtual events

  • Large molecules get SLIM: High-Resolution Ion Mobility for simplifying complex large molecule characterization: Dr. Jim Arndt, from MOBILion, and Dr. Jeffrey Agar, Associate Professor at Barnett Institute Northeastern University, discuss the benefits of HRIM-MS for enhancing structural characterization of large-molecule therapeutics, while increasing throughput and reducing reliance on LC-based methods. Watch here>>
  • Microbial air monitoring: Insight into the EU GMP Annex 1 revision: Join Dr. Eric C. Arakel, global product manager for sterility testing and air monitoring at Sartorius, to find out more about environmental monitoring programs and how the Annex 1 revision could impact you. Arakel presents solutions for continuous, intervention-free active air monitoring for a tested period of eight hours - the period of a typical manufacturing shift. Watch here>>
  • Multimodal analysis of anticancer drug testing in tumor-specific 3D cell culture models: Dr. Julia Kirshner, Founder and CEO of zPREDICTA, discusses the advantages of using 3D culture models over the traditional methods, with particular emphasis on the importance of tumor microenvironment and tissue-relevant extracellular matrix (ECM) in obtaining accurate drug response data. Watch here>>
  • Bioanalytical method development for oligonucleotides: Overcoming the analytical challenges: Mary Trudeau, principal applications scientist at Waters Corporation, outlines the key challenges in method development for oligonucleotides and solutions to address them. Trudeau illustrates these challenges and solutions through several examples, including various oligodeoxythymidines and the antisense oligonucleotide therapy, GEM91, and place particular emphasis on how to achieve maximum resource utilization and improve selectivity and sensitivity in oligonucleotide bioanalysis using LC-MS/MS. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>