New insight into dietary behaviour using NMR profiling
29 Jul 2020

One of the big issues currently faced throughout the world is a rise in non-communicable diseases, such as obesity, type 2 diabetes, coronary heart disease and cancer. These diseases are all linked to the way we choose to live our lives, with one of the biggest factors being what we choose to eat. An unhealthy diet has been highlighted as a major factor in the vast majority of these diseases.

Accurately monitoring what people eat in their home environment with tools currently available is not possible. Current dietary methods have a misreporting rate of greater than 50%.

Watch this webinar to learn about the development of a metabolite profiling methodology that enables the accurate tracking of dietary intake which has implications for individual advice and monitoring of populations.

Join Dr. Isabel Garcia-Perez, Lecturer in Precision & Systems Medicine at Imperial College London, Professor Gary Frost, Chair of Nutrition and Dietetics at Imperial College London and Professor Elaine Holmes, Premier's Fellow in Molecular Phenomics at Murdoch University, as they explore dietary behavior using NMR profiling and its applicability in clinical practice.

Key learning objectives:

  • Understand the limitations of current dietary monitoring tools
  • Understand the unique process of developing dietary metabolite monitoring tools
  • Understand the applicability of the new metabolite monitoring tool in clinical practice

Who should attend:

  • NMR scientists
  • Clinicians
  • Dietitians
  • Wellness coaches

Certificate of attendance:

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance, and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes.

This webinar will be run in two sessions, the first session will be at 09:00 BST / 04:00 EDT / 01:00 PDT / 10:00 CEST. The second session will be at 16:00 BST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT / 17:00 CEST

Bruker BioSpin