Cell sorting in a busy laboratory virtual event
31 Jan 2022

Breakthroughs in single cell analysis have translated into paradigm shifts in biomedical and life science research. With these advances, cell sorting has emerged as a vital tool for delivering pure and viable target cells of desired phenotype, empowering scientists to probe cells with high resolution and precision. In order to meet the needs of new and experienced users, and support a wide range of applications, cell sorting technologies need to be automated for operational efficiency and be adaptable to reliably purify a variety of cell types.

In this virtual event, learn from a group of experts on how they have seamlessly incorporated the Sony MA900 cell sorter in different lab workflows for high-throughput and gentle sorting of complex cell populations to obtain highly pure and viable cells. They will discuss -

  • The use of automated cell sorting for high-throughput isolation of candidate B cells and mining the antibody repertoire for discovery of therapeutic antibody
  • The benefit of optimizing samples using cell sorting for achieving high quality data from single cell transcriptomics experiments
  • The capabilities of microfluidics chip based MA900 Cell Sorter for sorting different cell types

Session 1: 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 07:00 PST / 10:00 EST

Speaker: Naveen Suryadevara, PhD, Staff Scientist, Vanderbilt Vaccine Center, Vanderbilt University Medical Center and Dr Alon Wellner, PhD, Researcher, Department of Biomedical Engineering University of California, Irvine

Title: From B Cells to Yeast—Diverse Approaches to Rapid Discovery of COVID-19 Therapeutic Antibodies

Session 2: 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST

Speaker: Nicole Abreu, PhD Science & Technology Advisor, 10x Genomics

Title: Sample Preparation and Enrichment for Single-cell Sequencing Assays

Session 3: 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET / 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST

Speaker: Gisele Knowles, Applications Scientist, Sony Biotechnology and Emily Reddy, PhD, Research Associate, UHN Flow Cytometry Facility, The Hospital for Sick Children

Title: MA900 Cell Sorter – Advancing Single Cell Applications with High-throughput Microfluidics-based Cell Sorting

Who should attend?

This event is for new users, as well as experienced users, and those interested in learning more about the Sony MA900 cell sorting technology and its use in vaccine discovery, sample preparation for single- cell transcriptomics and for sorting numerous cell biology applications.

Sony Biotechnology