Biomarker discovery for lysosomal storage disorders using a metabolomic approach
22 Sep 2020

High-accuracy mass spectrometry is a powerful tool to discover biomarkers, allowing the diagnosis, monitoring and follow-up of different diseases. During this webinar, Dr. Michel Boutin, Technical Director of the Waters-CHUS Expertise Centre in Clinical Mass Spectrometry, will discuss the different steps of untargeted/semi-targeted metabolomic studies, such as sample collection, sample preparation, sample analysis, data analysis and structural elucidation, along with strategies to bypass potential pitfalls.

Different tools to structurally elucidate targeted biomarkers will also be discussed and examples of metabolomic studies that led to the discovery of new biomarkers for genetic diseases will be presented.

Key learning objective:

  • Learn how to perform untargeted/semi-targeted metabolomic studies to discover novel biomarkers by mass spectrometry.

Who should attend?

  • Clinical scientists, medical technologists & biomedical scientists
  • Decision makers interested in tools to advance biomarker discovery
  • Clinical researchers with an interest in analytical method development
  • Clinicians with an interest in inborn errors of metabolism
  • Post-doctoral and postgraduate scientists with an interest in analytical method development

Certificate of attendance

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance, and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes.

This webinar will run at two different times. The first session will be on Tuesday, September 22 at 16:00 BST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT / 17:00 CEST, and the second session will be on Wednesday, September 23 at 09:30 IST / 12:00 CST / 13:00 JST.

Waters