Expert Insight: Role of serology in the next phase of COVID-19 investigation and response

Join us on Tuesday, August 11, to learn about a novel serological platform used for COVID-19 testing

07 Aug 2020


Linfa Wang
Prof. Linfa Wang, Director at Programme in Emerging Infectious Diseases, Duke-NUS Medical School

The current COVID-19 pandemic has led to large-scale lockdown around the world to prevent further spread of the disease. From the initial effort of rapid diagnosis and containment, the international community is now facing the challenge of an effective and pragmatic “exit” strategy to balance the public health risk versus the huge economic losses as a result of the travel ban and lockdown measures globally.

In this upcoming webinar, Prof. Linfa Wang from Duke-NUS Medical School, details different serological platforms currently used for COVID-19 testing will be reviewed and compared together with the introduction of a novel platform, the surrogate virus neutralization test (sVNT), recently developed by GenScript.

Learning objectives:

  • An overview of the COVID-19 outbreak and SARS-CoV-2 virology
  • Analysis on the challenges for COVID-19 investigation and research
  • How serology plays an important role in the next phase of COVID-19 research
  • Methodology of neutralization antibody testing that is immunoglobulin agnostic and species independent for increased sensitivity and specificity

Who should attend

  • Clinical diagnostics labs interested in fast and accurate tests for COVID-19 immunity
  • Vaccine and drug development groups who not only require the measurement of an immune response to vaccination but also need functional antibodies that block the interaction between RBD and ACE2 receptor in small animal models and human samples
  • Basic research labs studying small molecule, antibody or peptide interactions with RBD as a means of inhibiting its interaction with ACE2

Certificate of attendance

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes.

The live webinar takes place on Tuesday, August 11, at:

  • 14:00 BST
  • 15:00 CEST
  • 06:00 PDT
  • 09:00 EDT

Register for this webinar here>>

SelectScience runs more than 10 webinars a month across various scientific topics, discover more of our upcoming webinars>>