Expert Insight: 8 virtual events & webinars you won't want to miss this week

Explore topics from food fraud and flow cytometry to pharmaceutical solid-phase microextraction and vaccine, cell & gene therapy production

12 Apr 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular weekly feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from advances in food fraud, spatial infiltration, and flow cytometry to pharmaceutical solid-phase microextraction,  and liquid handling.

Plus, don't miss our two upcoming one-day virtual events, each featuring a series of expert-led talks. The first looks at how to maximize lab efficiency through automation, the second explores how to accelerate the production of vaccines and cell and gene therapies.

 
 

IMMUNOLOGY: Ask the experts: Addressing challenges in a new era of flow cytometry

Key opinion leaders in the areas of immunology and flow cytometry will provide insights and best practices to support researchers on their path to experimental success.

Tuesday, April 13, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

COVID-19: Impact of new SARS-CoV-2 test method validations in the fight against COVID-19 in the food industry

Methods are now available to monitor SARS-CoV-2 in food production environments and evaluate the efficiency of sanitation processes. Find out more in this expert webinar with Danièle Sohier, senior manager, global scientific affairs – food production at Thermo Fisher Scientific, and Pat Bird, technical consultant at AOAC International.

Wednesday, April 14, 2021, at 18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST / 13:00 EDT / 10:00 PDT

Register here

SOLID-PHASE MICROEXTRACTION: BioSPME: A new tool for drug-protein binding determination

Dr. Olga Shimelis will present the use of a new product – Supel™ BioSPME C18 96-Pin Devices – for in vitro measurement of protein-binding properties of pharmaceutical compounds in plasma. 

Thursday, April 15, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Register here

VIRTUAL EVENT: Leveraging automation technologies to work smarter

This virtual event brings you three webinars from experts in the field of automation who will demonstrate how to leverage automated pipetting, sample prep, liquid handling and cloud-native software to increase your lab efficiency.

Friday, April 16, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

VIRTUAL EVENT: Accelerate cell bioproduction 

This one-day event will feature three webinars that cover the latest advances in vaccine, and cell and gene therapy production, with exclusive solutions from Corning Life Sciences designed to support accelerated cell bioproduction.

Monday, April 19, at 13:30 BST / 14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT / 05:30 PDT

Register here

SAMPLE PREPARATION: Simplify life in the lab with the new 8697 Headspace Sampler

Cassie Eisele and Abbey Fausett, from Agilent Technologies, will present this new hardware and discuss the instrument intelligence features released with this instrument. They will also explore two application notes using the new 8697 headspace sampler for USP <467> residual solvents and blood alcohol analysis.

Tuesday, April 20, at 13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST / 8:00 EDT / 05:00 PDT

Register here

DIGITAL SOLUTIONS: Automated science to create the lab of the future

This webinar will discuss how technology-driven strategies can promote success and how automated science is a key driving factor. It the first of 10 in our The Orchestrated Lab webinar series, being run in partnership with Thermo Fisher Scientific - look out for further details coming soon.

Tuesday, April 20, at 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT

Register here

SPATIAL INFILTRATION: Beyond the basics of image analysis: Image registration and spatial infiltration analysis in HALO

Andreas Theodosi, research scientist, and James Clay, image analysis manager, take a look at the application serial section registration of pan-cytokeratin, estrogen receptor, progesterone receptor, and CD8-stained serial sections of human breast carcinoma samples.

Thursday, April 22, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT

Register here

 

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars

  • Commercial readiness in light of In Vitro Diagnostic Regulation (IVDR): Join three leaders in the field of in vitro diagnostics, as they examine the new responsibilities of economic operators, whether your product is an IVD according to IVDR classification, and explore research use only versus general lab use in relation to IVDs. Watch here>>
  • 2020 – A year of clinical research change, challenge, and champions: Ellie Robertson, managing director, and Dr. Kirstin Taylor, clinical research physician at Intelligent Clinical, discuss the various issues their new clinical research facility has faced in light of the pandemic, and explore how increased public awareness of clinical research may influence clinical trial recruitment in the future. Watch here>>
  • Advancing oncology therapeutics development with 2D & 3D cell screening: Vicki Racicot, field applications scientist at Horizon Discovery, highlights recent data generated by Horizon Discovery from 2D cell panel single-agent and combination screens, illustrating how it complements CRISPR screening results obtained in a parallel study.  Watch here>>
  • Lean manufacturing practices with Raman spectroscopy for biopharmaceutical production: Shailesh Karavadra, applications manager at Thermo Fisher Scientific, addresses the role of Raman spectroscopy in the rapid release of raw materials through identity testing and real-time release testing of final products such as vaccines, hormones, and monoclonal antibodies. Watch here>>
  • Understanding pain mechanisms: RNA expression analysis of peripheral nervous system tissue: Prof. Theodore Price and Dr. Stephanie Shiers, from the Department of Neuroscience and Center for Advanced Pain Studies at University of Texas at Dallas, discuss technical aspects and challenges to using RNAscope® technology for RNA expression analysis on rodent and human dorsal root ganglion (DRG). Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>