Expert Insight: Expand your research skills with these 8 expert webinars

Explore topics from immunoassays, immunotherapeutics and immuno-oncology to Raman spectroscopy, metabolomics, and COVID-19

22 Mar 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In our regular weekly feature, we'll be highlighting the exciting and informative events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from advances in immunoassays, immunotherapeutics, and immuno-oncology to Raman spectroscopy, paperless labs, metabolomics, and immune responses to SARS-CoV-2.

 
 

PAPERLESS LABS: Data integrity and the next level of connectivity in a modern lab

Sebastian Weber, Product Manager Software Solutions at Sartorius, presents how to ensure data integrity in the paperless lab through design and flexible device connectivity to information systems.

Monday, March 22, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 09:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT

Register here

COVID-19: Population-wide immune responses to SARS-CoV-2: Insights from quantifying the antibody response

Prof. Adriano Aguzzi, University of Zurich, will outline how his team is addressing the challenge of quantifying antibody responses by introducing novel microfluidic assays to quantitatively profile the affinity and concentration of anti-COVID-19 antibodies in the serum of convalescent COVID-19 patients.

Tuesday, March 23, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 09:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT

Register here

IMMUNOTHERAPEUTICS: Evaluating the heterogeneity of B cells and TLS in lung cancer patients for improved immunotherapeutics

Dr. Tullia Bruno, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, evaluates the role of B cells and TLS in lung cancer. Using a multi-omics approach that combines cytometry, single-cell RNA sequencing, and multispectral imaging, the team has examined the determinants of TLS heterogeneity in healthy and patient lung tissue samples.

Wednesday, March 24, at 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT

Register here

METABOLOMICS: Robust metabolic profiling for routine quantitation and confident unknown identification

Amanda Souza, Metabolomics Program Manager at Thermo Fisher Scientific, presents a targeted profiling workflow for the nutrient evaluation of bovine serum samples as supplements in cell culture.

Wednesday, March 24, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 09:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT

Register here

IN SITU HYBRIDIZATION: Understanding pain mechanisms: RNA expression analysis of peripheral nervous system tissue

Prof. Theodore Price and Dr. Stephanie Shiers, from the Department of Neuroscience and Center for Advanced Pain Studies at University of Texas at Dallas, discuss technical aspects and challenges to using RNAscope® technology for RNA expression analysis on rodent and human dorsal root ganglion (DRG).

Thursday, 25 March, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CEST / 09:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT

Register here

RAMAN: Lean manufacturing practices with Raman spectroscopy for biopharmaceutical production

Shailesh Karavadra, Applications Manager at Thermo Fisher Scientific, addresses the role of Raman spectroscopy in the rapid release of raw materials through identity testing and real-time release testing of final products such as vaccines, hormones, and monoclonal antibodies.

Monday, March 29, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

ONCOLOGY: Advancing oncology therapeutics development with 2D & 3D cell screening

Vicki Racicot, Field Applications Scientist at Horizon Discovery, will highlight recent data generated by Horizon Discovery from 2D cell panel single-agent and combination screens, illustrating how it complements CRISPR screening results obtained in a parallel study. 

Tuesday, March 30, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

CLINICAL RESEARCH: 2020 – A Year of Clinical Research Change, Challenge, and Champions

Ellie Robertson, managing director, and Dr. Kirstin Taylor, clinical research physician at Intelligent Clinical, will discuss the various issues their new clinical research facility has faced in light of the pandemic, and find out how increased public awareness of clinical research may influence clinical trial recruitment in the future.

Thursday, March 31, at 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 07:00 PDT

Register here

 

Catch up on these 5 on-demand webinars

  • Time - the most precious resource: Part two of the high-sensitivity troponin webinar series: Dr. Frank Peacock, professor,  associate chair and research director for emergency medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, reviews the utilization of troponin assays in the assessment of acute coronary syndrome (ACS). Watch here>>
  • How to measure immune cell killing of tumor cells effectively: Cellero's Chief Science and Innovation Officer, Dr. Anne Lodge, presents data using tumor antigen-specific T cells from Cellero and widely available tumor cell lines to demonstrate specific lysis of tumor cells. Watch here>>
  • Therapy discovery for age-related immune system dysregulation using an automation-compatible, no-wash multiplexed immunoassay platform: Find out from an array of experts about FirePlex assay technology and how its features make it suitable for high-throughput screening and early drug discovery. Watch here>>
  • Increasing CRISPR knockout and screening efficiency with predesigned synthetic guide RNAs: Dr. James Goldmeyer, Senior Product Manager at Horizon Discovery, explains how synthetic guide RNAs are amenable to chemical modifications for increased stability, eliminate time-consuming steps of cloning and sequencing, and do not provoke the inherent immune response and cytotoxicity of in vitro transcribed guide RNAs.  Watch here>>
  • Accelerating rapid diagnostic development with Optimer reagents: Experts from Aptamer Group and QSM Diagnostics discuss how Optimer technology is being applied to new assays and targets. Specifically, they explore how Optimers are developed and implemented in novel assay platforms, the step changes Optimer reagents can bring to workflows, and how these reagents are driving the development of rapid diagnostics for the veterinary and healthcare markets. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>