Expert Insight: Don't miss out on these 4 upcoming webinars

Explore topics from single-cell RNA sequencing sample preparation and precise weighing processes to COVID-19 serology testing and pediatric diagnostics

11 Jan 2021


SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative and insightful free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In our regular weekly feature, we'll be highlighting the exciting and informative events you won't want to miss over the next week or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars. Register now to save your spot and hear from experts as they discuss the latest research and technologies in their fields, from single-cell RNA sequencing sample preparation and precise weighing processes to COVID-19 serology testing and pediatric diagnostics.

 

WEIGHING: Weighing precision management: Reduce risk and increase USP41 compliance

Hear from A&D Instruments’ Senior Product Manager of Laboratory Solutions, Jennifer Block, as she provides an overview of the innovative solutions found in the A&D Apollo series of analytical laboratory balances. In this webinar, Block will explain how electronically controlled load (ECL) technology allows automatic precision assessment at the touch of a button, without the need for external weights and service bodies that cost time, money, and can introduce uncertainties. 

Thursday, January 14: 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET / 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST

Register here

 

SINGLE-CELL SEQUENCING: Sample preparation and enrichment for single-cell sequencing assays

Dr. Nicole Abreu,  Science and Technology Advisor at 10x Genomics, will discuss the basics of sample preparation, sample cleanup, and enrichment methods to obtain quality data from single-cell sequencing assays. Additionally, we will share how to leverage 10x Genomics multiplexed approaches to profile gene expression, antigen-binding specificities, and classify immune cell types. 

Wednesday, January 20: 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST

Register here

 

PEDIATRIC DIAGNOSTICS: The importance of pediatric reference intervals for diagnostic testing

Join Dr. Khosrow Adeli, Head of Clinical Biochemistry at the University of Toronto, as he discusses how to best overcome the challenges involved in establishing reference intervals for proper clinical interpretation of pediatric lab results, aiding the diagnosis and treatment of pediatric patients (P.A.C.E and AACC accredited webinar).

Wednesday, January 20: 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST

Register here

COVID-19 VACCINATIONS: SARS-CoV-2 serology testing in the setting of vaccination

Hear from Dr. Angela Rasmussen, virologist at Siemens Healthineers, as she details how serology testing is necessary to understand whether vaccination results in seroconversion and a sustained response in each person, especially for high-risk/high-exposure people, describe how clinical serology testing is relatively low cost and high throughput, with fast turnaround and broad population access, and explain why this testing will be necessary to confirm seroconversion and a sustained response of neutralizing antibody. (P.A.C.E and AACC accredited webinar).

Friday, January 22: 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST

Register here

Catch up on these on-demand webinars

  • Reliable and rapid antimicrobial resistance identification for appropriate therapy: Dr. Jose Alexander discusses the vital role a clinical microbiology lab can take in integrating rapid sample-to-result technology for the identification of antimicrobial resistance patterns. Watch here>>
  • Sample preparation strategies for oligonucleotides bioanalytical workflows: Brian Rivera from Phenomenex shares an overview of sample preparation strategies for synthetic oligonucleotides, including how to adjust experimental design depending on the oligo and sample matrix. Watch here>>
  • Brillouin microscopy & Raman spectroscopy: Emerging techniques for improved biomedical and clinical research:  Find out how Brillouin microscopy and Raman spectroscopy techniques can revolutionize your biophysical and biochemical analyses for life sciences, biomedical, and clinical diagnostic applications. Watch here>>
  • A new approach to fully automated QC with high-performance thin-layer chromatography: Dr. Melanie Broszat, Scientific Business Development Manager at CAMAG, introduces the HPTLC PRO, a fully automated HPTLC sample analysis and evaluation system launched in 2019. Watch here>>
  • Latest Gemini technology for ultimate microscopic characterization of challenging samples: Dr. Ben Tordoff highlights how the industry-leading Gemini technology was pioneered, the latest ZEISS FE-SEM portfolio, and its benefits for ultimate microscopic characterizations of challenging samples. Watch here>>
  • Bioanalytical methods for bacteria and protein characterization: Nathalie Vollmer and Christelle Mégier from HORIBA Scientific describe Raman spectroscopy, fluorescence spectroscopy, and dynamic light scattering techniques and their application in life sciences and pharmaceuticals. Watch here>>
  • Harnessing 19F as an agent in bio-NMR of large systems: Prof. Haribabu Arthanari discusses state-of-art NMR investigations of large biomolecules with selective 19F-labels and the use of high-sensitivity cryogenic NMR probes at high magnetic fields. Watch here>>
  • The 2020 opioids epidemic and the importance of drug screening: Prof.  Marilyn A. Huestis, Senior Fellow, Thomas Jefferson University, and President, Huestis & Smith Toxicology, break down how the 2020 opioid epidemic emerged as well as the current approaches for drug testing. Watch here>>

Have a conflicting schedule? Don't worry all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand, find out more here>>