Accelerating Science: The people and technologies changing the world >

Expert Insight: 5 upcoming webinars you won't want to miss

Discover the latest tools and techniques to expand your research capacity with expert-led presentations on food safety testing, NGS analysis, spectroscopy techniques, and more

13 Mar 2023


Upcoming SelectScience Webinars

SelectScience® hosts dozens of informative free webinars for scientists every month, featuring world-class speakers at the very forefront of their respective fields. In this regular feature, we highlight the events you won't want to miss over the next few weeks or so, as well as some of our top on-demand webinars.

This week, explore the past, present, and future of food safety testing, learn how spatial multi-omics is being utilized in targeted cancer immunotherapies, and understand how to optimize clone selection in cell line development. Plus, discover how the QIAGEN CLC LightSpeed reduces the cost of NGS analysis and explore common spectroscopic techniques, such as UV/VIS absorption spectroscopy, photoluminescence, and Raman scattering

The past, present, and future of food safety testing – a SelectScience Broadcast

The past, present, and future of food safety testing – a SelectScience Broadcast

Food analytical testing is essential for us all, but do you know why? And how can testing labs address current food safety challenges whilst anticipating future concerns? Through some enlightening interviews with food testing scientists and industry experts, SelectScience, in partnership with Thermo Fisher Scientific, explores the changes in approach to food safety testing over time, across a wealth of innovative content. From the foundations of food testing to modern challenges and important technological advancements, we've collated an assortment of content for you in this free SelectScience Broadcast, covering three key areas of concern: pesticides, mycotoxins, and food contact materials. 

Wednesday, March 15, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT
 

Register here


Spatial multi-omics in targeted cancer immunotherapies

Spatial multi-omics in targeted cancer immunotherapies

In this webinar, Dr. Arutha Kulasinghe, NHMRC Research Fellow and Clinical-oMx Group Leader at the Frazer Institute, University of Queensland, will discuss how single-cell multiomic spatial phenotyping is an invaluable tool to characterize the tumor microenvironment using unbiased whole-slide imaging of metastatic/recurrent HNSCC tumors among patients treated with pembrolizumab/nivolumab. He will also explain how using these techniques, his team were able to identify stromal, immune, and metabolic tissue signatures associated with resistance to immunotherapy and poor overall survival.

Thursday, March 16, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT / 03:00 AEST


Register here


Optimizing clone selection in cell line development

Optimizing clone selection in cell line development

From gene cloning and initial clone selection through to final cell evaluation, the continual assessment of cell count and viability is important for determining the best growing and highest producing clones. This information can be used for monitoring proliferation rates, optimizing growth conditions and normalizing cell data for further studies. Traditional methods for measuring cell count and viability are often low throughput, time-consuming, and lacking in linearity. Advanced flow cytometry provides a fast, accurate and reproducible solution for cell viability and density quantification, which is essential for efficient biologics development processes. In this webinar, Daryl Cole, applications scientist, Sartorius, will present data on how the high-throughput iQue® Advanced Flow Cytometry platform can be effectively used for simultaneous and accurate evaluation of cell count and viability.

Tuesday, March 21, at 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT


Register here


Lowering NGS analysis cost at lightspeed

Lowering NGS analysis cost at lightspeed

Advances in next-generation sequencing (NGS) technologies over the years have significantly decreased the cost of whole genome (WGS) and whole exome (WES) applications, such that they are considered the standard of care within multiple healthcare organizations. Arguably, the most significant NGS challenges lie within data analysis and interpretation. Various parameters such as sensitivity, specificity, cost, and speed are critical for secondary analysis, while accurate, comprehensive and up-to-date content is required for reliable interpretation. Join this webinar to learn about QIAGEN CLC LightSpeed, a secondary analysis software that dramatically reduces the cost and time it takes to analyze WES and WGS data and generate actionable insights.

Wednesday, March 22 at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT


Register here


Spectroscopy techniques in practice: Methods and motivations

Spectroscopy techniques in practice: Methods and motivations

During this second session of a four-part ‘Fundamentals of Spectroscopy’ course, we will break down some common spectroscopic techniques (UV/VIS absorption spectroscopy, photoluminescence, and Raman scattering amongst others), examine how they work at a relatively low level, and discuss how they can be used to learn in different situations. We will pay special attention to the historical developments of these techniques, particularly the scientific and economic motivations that drove the people who created and refined them.

Thursday, March 23, at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST
 

Register here


Watch our webinars at a time that suits you

Missed one of our webinars? Fortunately, all SelectScience webinars are made available on demand after the live event. Catch up on some of our latest webinars below: 

The basic physics of spectroscopy: Light-matter interaction for fun and profit

Watch here»

Complete mAb stability characterization: From CHO cell line development to degraded polysorbate ID

Watch here»

Assessment of LNP quality and encapsulation efficiency by nano-flow cytometry

Watch here»

iPSCs & single cell isolation – Considerations of clinical manufacturing workflow

Watch here»

An integrated multimodal analysis workflow to sort, sequence, and characterize antigen-specific B or T cells

Watch here»

Developing a spatio-temporal single-cell type map of adult human tissues

Watch here»

Leprechaun leads you to lentivirus gold

Watch here»

Analysis of oligonucleotides by accurate mass LC/MS: Sequencing and impurity analysis to support development at Arrowhead Pharmaceuticals

Watch here»


SelectScience runs 10+ webinars a month across various scientific topics, discover more of our upcoming webinars>>