Editorial Article: Taking place today! Virtual Microbiology and Infectious Disease Summit 2022

Join us online, May 17th, to discover the latest developments in the fields of microbiology and infectious disease

17 May 2022


The full exciting schedule has been announced for the SelectScience® Virtual Microbiology and Infectious Disease Summit 2022, taking place on May 17.

Covering the very latest hot topics in microbiology and infectious disease, including sepsis, meningitis, COVID-19, malaria, and the role of the microbiome in healthcare, this free-to-attend online event offers an interactive forum for scientists, clinicians, and manufacturers to connect, showcase research and share technology solutions.

The Summit will host talks by world-leading clinical scientists and clinicians, live Q&As, video interviews, interactive resource booths, and unique networking opportunities. Attendees will also be able to view academic posters submitted by our global scientific community, leave comments, ask questions, and prompt collaboration through 1-on-1 chat facilities.

 

Register now to catch the talks that are most relevant to your work, and read on to learn more about:

Keynote Speaker

Prof. Richard Moxon
University of Oxford, Founder of the Oxford Vaccine Group

Brain fever: How vaccines prevent meningitis and other killer diseases

  • Dr. Ron Daniels, NHS Intensive Care Consultant, UK Sepsis Trust
  • Dr Jane Achan, Senior Research Advisor, Malaria Consortium
  • Dr Anthony Hobson PhD, Clinical GI Scientist & Clinical Director of the Functional Gut Clinic
  • Sten Westgard, Director of Client Services and Technology for Westgard QC
  • Dr. Federica Bernardini, Senior Postdoctoral Researcher, Imperial College London

Agenda

Look out for our two, color-coded tracks on this year's agenda, click on the tabs below to change tracks:

Tuesday, May 17: Track 1

 

KEYNOTE SPEECH
Brain fever: How vaccines prevent meningitis and other killer diseases
Professor Richard Moxon, University of Oxford
12:45 (BST) / 13:45 (CEST) / 07:45 (EDT) / 04:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

A need for action - community and scientists working together towards controlling infectious diseases.
Asha Wijengunawardana, Senior Lecturer, Rajarate University of Sri Lanka
13:30 (BST) / 14:30 (CEST) / 08:30 (EDT) / 05:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Big data and biomarkers are improving sepsis patient outcomes
Dr. Ron Daniels, NHS Intensive Care Consultant, UK Sepsis Trust
14:15 (BST) / 15:15 (CEST) / 09:15 (EDT) / 06:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Total process control – Sepsis 
Tobin Efferen, Senior Medical Director, Beckman Coulter & Hunter Bowen, Marketing Manager for      Automation, Beckman Coulter

15:00 (BST) / 16:00 (CEST) / 10:00 (EDT) / 07:00 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Strategies for simplifying viral vaccine and biotherapeutic discovery
David Apiyo, Ph.D., Senior Manager, Octet Applications, Sartorius and Allan Schell, Field Application Scientist Manager, Sartorius

15:45 (BST) / 16:45 (CEST) / 10:45 (EDT) / 07:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Malaria diagnostics and testing: opportunities and challenges
Dr. Jane Achan, Senior Research Advisor, Malaria Consortium

16:45 (BST) / 17:45 (CEST) / 11:45 (EDT) / 08:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Tackling malaria with genetically modified mosquitoes
Dr. Federica Bernardini, Senior Postdoctoral Researcher, Imperial College London
17:30 (BST) / 18:30 (CEST) / 12:30 (EDT) / 09:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Navigating through the pandemic: The latest on COVID-19 testing
Sten Westgard, Director of Client Services and Technology for Westgard QC, Wayne Dimech, National Reference Laboratory.
18:15 (BST) / 19:15 (CEST) / 13:15 (EDT) / 10:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Tuesday, May 17: Track 2

 

Speeding up infectious diseases diagnostics during a global outbreak
Gabriel Stiebellehner, Deputy Head of Department, Molecular Disease Diagnostics, Labor Dr. Fenner & Kollegen
12:45 (BST) / 13:45 (CEST) / 07:45 (EDT) / 04:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Driving antimicrobial treatment by resistance markers in gram-negatives
Dr. Jose Alexander, AdventHealth Orlando
13:15 (BST) / 14:15 (CEST) / 08:15 (EDT) / 05:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Digestive Health - Tertiary Care Journey
Dr Anthony Hobson, Clinical GI Scientist & Clinical Director of the Functional Gut Clinic
14:45 (BST) / 15:45 (CEST) / 09:45 (EDT) / 06:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Current Challenges and Quality Controls in Clinical Microbiome Research
Dr. Raul Cano, The BioCollective
15:30 (BST) / 16:30 (CEST) / 10:30 (EDT) / 07:30 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Viral microscopy
Maria Harkiolaki, Principal Beamline Scientist at Diamond Light Source
16:15 (BST) / 17:15 (CEST) / 11:15 (EDT) / 08:15 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

Quality control of qualitative testing of SARS-CoV-2 in clinical laboratories
Wayne Dimech, Executive Manager - Scientific and Business Relations at NRL, Australia and Joe Vincini, Quality Control Services Manager at NRL, Australia.
17:45 (BST) / 18:45 (CEST) / 12:45 (EDT) /09:45 (PDT)
Add to Calendar

 

Sponsors

Register for free to reserve a place today — you’ll be able to drop in and out as you wish during the Summit.

Watch this space for further updates and follow our social media channels:

Catch up on the latest techniques and technologies and play your part in improving science communication by leaving a lab product review for a chance to win a $400 Amazon Gift Card.