Expert Insight: Sensitive compositional analysis at the micro- and nanoscale, a secondary ion mass spectroscopy workshop

Watch this webinar to gain insight into SIMS technology and discover an innovative solution offering the current world record in SIMS lateral resolution

21 Oct 2019


Zeiss
Dr. Fabián Pérez Willard, Carl Zeiss Microscopy GmbH, and Douglas Runt, Carl Zeiss SMT, Inc.

When it comes to elemental analysis of low concentrations or light elements, secondary ion mass spectroscopy (SIMS) is the technique of choice for materials characterization. SIMS not only allows the detection of element traces down to the parts per million (ppm) level, it also enables the detection of all elements of the periodic table, isotopes, and small ion clusters.

In this workshop, gain insight into SIMS and discover the new ZEISS SIMS portfolio, including cost-efficient add-ons for ZEISS FIB-SEMs as well as an innovative solution offering the current world record in SIMS lateral resolution. Selected applications in steel failure, battery, and solar cell research illustrate the use of the different ZEISS SIMS solutions.

 

 

Join this webinar to learn about: 

  • The basics of SIMS, including a brief overview of different mass selection principles
  • How a cost-efficient SIMS add-on performs on a standard FIB-SEM instrument   
  • How to achieve the highest spatial resolution with SIMS using the neon ion beam of a helium ion microscope (HIM)

Attend the live webinar on Tuesday, Oct 29, at:
16:00 GMT / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT / 17:00 CET

Who should attend?
Microscopists interested in analytical techniques complementary to EDS. 

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes.

Find out more on this topic by registering to watch the full webinar>>

SelectScience runs 3-4 webinars a month across various scientific topics, discover more of our upcoming webinars>>