Product News: BioTek Wins Prestigious Scientists’ Choice Award

06 Sep 2013

SelectScience is pleased to announce that the winner of the Scientists’ Choice Award for Drug Discovery Product of the Year 2012 is the Synergy NEO HTS multi-mode microplate reader from BioTek Instruments Inc. The award was presented at ELRIG Drug Discovery in Manchester on 5th September.

The Drug Discovery Product of the Year Award is presented for cutting-edge and innovative technology within the Drug Discovery arena. Products which have made a significant difference within the industry over the last year were nominated and shortlisted via a series of online polls, where scientists were invited to vote for their favorite drug discovery product.

Synergy NEO from BioTek Instruments Inc. is an HTS multi-mode microplate reader designed specifically for today's screening and core laboratories. Its features include multiple parallel detectors for ultra-fast measurements and a dedicated filter-based system for live cell assays. With a load/unload plate transfer time of about 6 seconds per plate, NEO’s optional integrated plate stacker enables walk-away automation of short- or long-term assays.
Dr. Dirk Frese, European Managing Director, the award on behalf of BioTek, noting, "SelectScience is a well-respected global resource for the latest in research methods and industry news, and also for member-submitted product reviews. So it's quite an honor for SelectScience members to choose BioTek’s Synergy NEO as their top Drug Discovery Product, and we are most grateful."
The finalists also included:

Multi-Drop Combi nL Reagent Dispenser
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Hewlett-Packard (HP) D300 Digital Dispenser

GravityPLUS™ 3D Culture and Assay Platform

Biacore™ 4000
GE Healthcare

LabChip® GX
PerkinElmer Inc.

Bravo Automated Liquid Handling Platform
Agilent Technologies

For more information on the Scientists’ Choice Awards visit

For more information on the Synergy NEO, please click on the company article page...

Image shows Dr. Dirk Frese of BioTek accepting product award from Kerry Parker and Chris Rew, SelectScience.