Editorial Article: Improving Drug Therapies a Single Cell at a Time using Single Cell ICP-MS: Free Webinar

Register for the free webinar on June 12, 2017 at 4pm BST/5pm CEST/11am EDT/8am PDT

17 May 2017


On June 12, join us for this SelectScience® webinar to learn how single-cell inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (ICP-MS) is advancing the analysis of cancer drug therapies.

 

It is estimated that in 2017, over 1.6 million new cancer cases will be diagnosed. Cisplatin and other platinum-based analogs, remain a mainstay in the clinic treating a wide range of tumors including ovarian, lung, testicular, bladder, as well as others. Frequently the patient initially responds to chemotherapy but when the tumor returns, patients are resistant to further platinum-based chemotherapy. With new research, scientists are taking a cellular step closer to understanding how cisplatin chemotherapy, and other metal-based cancer drugs, can be developed to improve their success rates.

 

In this webinar, Lauren Amable, Ph.D., Staff Scientist, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) and Chady Stephan, Ph.D., Product Manager for Customer Solutions, PerkinElmer, Inc. will discuss the use of single cell ICP-MS in enabling researchers to see how effective a cancer drug is performing for each and every cell in a tumor.

 

Watch this webinar to learn:

  • Single cell ICP-MS analysis methodology to study metal uptake at a single cell level
  • Quantifying single cell uptake with cisplatin
  • Novel targets for increasing cisplatin uptake
  • Overcoming current challenges with drug uptake analysis

 

There will also be a question and answer session at the end of the webinar for you to ask any questions you may have.

 

Register now for the live event on June 12, 2017 at 4pm BST/5pm CEST/11am EDT/8am PDT.