Industry News: Dr. Christopher A. Lipinski Receives the 2006 SBS Achievement Award

12 Jun 2006

Dr. Christopher A. Lipinski, Scientific Advisor Melior Discovery, is the winner of this year’s Achievement Award for Innovation in HTS. The presentation takes place during the Society for Biomolecular Science’s 12th Annual Conference in Seattle, Washington, September 17-21, 2006.

This award is given in recognition for his pioneering research, identification and application of drug-like physicochemical and structural features, a comparison of drug-like and non-drug-like characteristics in drug discovery, and investigations and analyses of how drug-like features relate to clinical success. 

The title of Dr. Lipinski’s keynote speech on Thursday is: Drug-like or Tool-like Compounds: Why Does It Matter in HTS?

The Award---The winner of the Society for Biomolecular Sciences Achievement Award for Innovation in HTS is invited to present an award lecture at the annual conference.  Honorable mention is made in the Journal of Biomolecular Screening, and a $5,000 honorarium and plaque are also presented to the winner. The Award recognizes outstanding achievements in research, innovation, groundbreaking foundation or seminal contributions that have proven to be broadly applicable to biomolecular sciences or pharmaceutical/agricultural lead discovery.

Dr. Lipinski joined Pfizer in 1970 following a National Institutes of General Medical Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship at the California Institute of Technology. At Pfizer from 1970 to 1990, he supervised medicinal chemistry drug-discovery laboratories discovering multiple gastrointestinal and diabetic clinical candidates. In the process, he became interested in the design of bioisosteres and in drug physical chemical properties and quantitative structure activity relationships, especially as they related to problems of oral activity. In 1990, he established a highly automated laboratory combining computations and experimental physical property measurements. Experimentally, his laboratory provided experimental solubility measurements on medicinal compounds synthesized at the Pfizer Groton site.  Computationally, he champions a very pragmatic, chemistry end user oriented, approach to the problem of oral activity improvement. 

Dr. Lipinski retired from the position of Senior Research Fellow in the Exploratory Medicinal Sciences Department at the Pfizer Global Research and Development Groton Laboratories in June 2002. He received a B.Sc. degree in chemistry from San Francisco State College and a Ph.D. in physical organic chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley. At the end of this month Dr. Lipinski receives an honorary law degree from the University of Dundee in Scotland.

Awards Recipient
Besides this year’s award from SBS, in 2005 he won the American Chemical Society's E. B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances and in 2004, the Division of Medicinal Chemistry Award of the ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry. 

Dr. Lipinski is a member of the Medicinal Chemistry section of the American Chemical Society, the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences, the Society for Biomolecular Sciences, and the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He serves on the scientific advisory board for Melior Discovery, the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development, and the Matrical Company. He is a consultant for the Hereditary Disease Foundation. Dr. Lipinski is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the highlights advisory board of Nature Reviews Drug Discovery and advisory boards of several other journals. Since 1984, he has been an adjunct faculty member at Connecticut College in New London, Connecticut, and has over 210 publications and invited presentations and 17 issued US patents. 

Past recipients of the SBS Award include: 2005--Dr. Marc G. Caron (Duke University Medical Center), 2004--Dr. Stuart L. Schreiber (Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Harvard University), 2003--Prof. Jonathan Ellman (University of California at Berkeley), 2002--Sir John Sulston, Nobel Prize winner (The Sanger Centre) and Dr. Manfred Auer ( Novartis Lead Discovery Center), 2001--Dr. Michael W. Hunkapiller (Applera Corp., Applied Biosystems Group) and Dr. Leroy Hood (Institute for Systems Biology), 2000--Dr. Solomon Snyder (The Johns Hopkins University), 1999--Dr. Pedro Cuatrecasas (University of California at San Diego), 1998--Prof. Sidney Udenfriend (Drew University).