Expert Insight: Discovery of a druggable pocket in SARS-CoV-2 Spike: New avenue to defeat COVID-19?

Join us on Tuesday, July 28, to learn about the structural link between COVID-19 pathology and the virus itself and how this may lead to novel therapeutics

13 Jul 2020



Imre Berger, Founder and Managing Director at the
Max Planck-Bristol Centre for Minimal Biology

COVID-19 is caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). Key to SARS-CoV-2 therapeutic development is to unravel the mechanisms driving high infectivity, broad tissue tropism and severe pathology. SARS-CoV-2 is decorated by multiple copies of a glycoprotein, called Spike, which is key to such severe infectivity.

Using cryo-electron microscopy and cloud computing, Genscript has discovered a potentially druggable pocket within the SARS-CoV-2 Spike, which appears to be present in the highly pathogenic coronaviruses that caused previous SARS and MERS outbreaks

Watch this webinar, presented by Imre Berger, Founder and Managing Director at the Max Planck-Bristol Centre for Minimal Biology, to find out for the first time the structural link between COVID-19 pathology and the virus itself, setting the stage for developing new therapeutic interventions to combat and defeat COVID-19.

Key learning objectives:

Learn about the high-tech science technologies and techniques being used to defeat the global COVID-19 epidemic.

Who should attend?

  • COVID-19 researchers
  • R&D scientists in academia and industry
  • Biologists
  • Biochemists
  • Those working within CROs and CDMOs
  • Drug developers

Certificate of attendance

All webinar participants can request a certificate of attendance, and a learning outcomes summary document for continuing education purposes.

This webinar will run on Tuesday, July 28, at:

  • 14:00 BST
  • 15:00 CEST
  • 09:00 EDT
  • 06:00 PDT

Register for this webinar here>>

SelectScience runs 3-4 webinars a month across various scientific topics, discover more of our upcoming webinars>>