New System Screens More Clones in Less Time

24 Jan 2011
Share
The new ClonePix™2 system from Genetix Ltd. utilizes fluorescence and white light imaging and advanced image analysis capabilities to automatically screen more clones in less time, select cells with optimal expression levels and pick colonies with accuracy and confidence.

The original ClonePix FL systems are used in over one hundred biopharmaceutical organizations and research laboratories to provide faster, more productive workflows than conventional techniques. Often employed to reduce cell line/antibody development times, data from these systems are cited increasingly in scientific literature and at conferences, an indication of acceptance within the industry. The most frequently applied approach to monitor expression levels takes advantage of specific chemistries developed by Genetix to enable label-free quantification of secreted proteins – a significant advantage when screening and selecting cell lines for production of biotherapeutics, such as monoclonal antibodies.

Dr. Mark Truesdale, Marketing Manager at Genetix, explained the reasoning behind the development of a second generation instrument: “Working closely with our existing customers has enabled us to specify software and hardware enhancements to raise overall performance. Imaging analysis software has been enhanced to improve consistency when ranking clones. A redesign of robotics has reduced the number of plate handling steps, thereby minimizing the risk of colony disturbance or contamination and giving greater picking accuracy. We believe that ClonePix 2 users will experience a smoother, more efficient workflow.”
ClonePix 2 will be showcased on the Genetix booths at Lab Automation 2011 in Palm Springs and ABRF 2011 in San Antonio, Texas.

Upcoming webinar
Those interested in learning more about the use of ClonePix systems in the biopharmaceutical industry can listen online to Jolanda Gerritsen, Technology Expert, Cell Line Development at Genmab in The Netherlands: Optimal selection of monoclonal cell lines producing high amounts of biopharmaceutical human IgGs

Dr. Gerritsen will describe how Genmab have developed a state-of-the-art cell line development process for the generation of CHO cell lines expressing therapeutic IgGs by optimizing and integrating emerging technologies.

The webinar will take place on February 9 at 17:30 CET, 16:30 GMT, 11:30 AM EST, 8:30 AM PST. Follow the 'Company article page link' top right of this page to register.

Request Info


Company website

Molecular Devices (New Milton) Ltd