Industry News: Discover A New Concept in Metabolic Studies

08 Jul 2014


The SelectScience Editors are pleased to announce this complimentary, live educational webinar entitled “A New Concept in Metabolic Studies: How Personalized 'Sportomics' Bridges Bench and Clinical Science”, featuring guest speaker Prof. L. C. Cameron, PI, Laboratory of Protein Biochemistry, Federal University of State of Rio de Janeiro.

Prof. L. C. Cameron is building a new approach to metabolic research. For more than a decade, he has used alternative approaches to understand metabolic responses to physical stress. In addition to classic laboratory studies (cell and animal models), he has developed the ‘Sportomics’ approach of non-hypothesis-driven research on an individual’s metabolite changes during sports and exercise, using advanced mass spectrometry and in-field clinical chemistry techniques.

The holistic, top-down methodology is creating a large database, and new data mining procedures to improve metabolomics and proteomics studies. Prof. Cameron believes this approach could help to bridge a methodological gap between systems biology and translational medicine, and aid understanding of signaling pathways involved in diseases which lead to hypermetabolic states, such as cancer or thermic injuries.

Learn how you can:
● Use exercise as a model to understand pathological responses.
● Develop different strategies for the analysis of metabolomics data.
● Use mass spectrometry as a targeted and non-targeted tool, and optimize laboratory techniques 'in-field'.
● Understand and monitor an individual's metabolome in order to improve health and performance.

Kerry Parker, Editor-in-Chief at SelectScience, will be leading a Q&A with Prof. Cameron following the webinar.

Webinar Information
Date:
Thursday, July 24th 2014
Time: 8:00a.m. PDT / 11:00a.m. EDT / 12:00p.m. BRT / 4:00p.m. BST / 5:00p.m. CEST
Duration: 45-minute discussion and 15-minute live Q&A

Click here to check the time of the webinar in your country >>

Learn more about this educational webinar >>

About SelectScience Webinars
SelectScience webinars provide attendees with the opportunity to learn by exploring case studies, discovering new techniques and solutions, and questioning industry experts during live Q&A sessions. The webinars, hosted by a member of the SelectScience editorial team, offer an educational tool for laboratory scientists on the latest technologies, best practices and novel solutions.

About SelectScience
Established in 1998, SelectScience is the fastest way to get impartial, expert opinion about the best laboratory equipment and latest techniques. The website has more than 250,000 scientist members working in Life Sciences, Clinical Diagnostics and Applied Chemistry disciplines. SelectScience is headquartered in the UK, with offices in Germany, Italy and North America.