Agilent Technologies Introduces Innovative 4300 Handheld FTIR Spectrometer, Bringing Laboratory Performance to the Field

18 Mar 2014
Share
Agilent Technologies Inc. has introduced a next-generation mobile spectroscopy product that is ideal for on-site testing in a broad range of applications, including advanced materials, art, historical objects, geology, agriculture, composites, coatings and polymers.

The lightweight, ergonomic 4300 Handheld Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectrometer enables the direct identification and assessment of high-value materials without sample extraction, making handheld FTIR a true nondestructive testing solution.

Thirty-five percent lighter than its predecessor, the 4300 FTIR offers the performance, mobility, flexibility and user comfort never before attained in a handheld FTIR device.

A game-changer for the mobile FTIR field

"We believe this handheld FTIR is a game-changer for the mobile FTIR field," said Phil Binns, Agilent's vice president and managing director of Spectroscopy. "Not only is it portable and compact, but its advanced ergonomics make the system comfortable to use for long periods of time, leading to better-quality data. Users can now get rapid, field-based analyses without any sample preparation, reducing the time to actionable results."

Two versions of the new FTIR

Two versions of the new FTIR are available: one equipped with a deuterated triglycine sulfate (DTGS) infrared detector that covers a wide range of materials analysis applications, and a high-performance version, equipped with a thermoelectrically cooled mercury cadmium telluride (MCT) detector. The latter system provides improved sensitivity and measurement speed and is ideal for measuring numerous locations over a surface or in a field.

The 4300 Handheld FTIR is available with five interchangeable sample interfaces for handling the broadest range of applications. Each interface is equipped with radio frequency identification (RFID) sensors, enabling full integration with Agilent's method-driven Microlab mobile software. These features, combined with simple touch-screen operation, enable users to quickly access the power of the 4300 with minimal training.

The handheld 4300 FTIR spectrometer is the newest in Agilent's line of specially designed mobile measurement solutions comprising a range of GC, GC/MS and FTIR systems for use in food, agriculture, forensics, mining, biofuels, chemical and other environmental and material applications.

Product Webinars March 18 and 25

To learn more about this new FTIR handheld technology, join Agilent for the upcoming live webinars:
 
March 18 - Innovative Leaps in FTIR Technology - Introducing the Next Generation of Handheld FTIR for Non-Destructive Materials Analysis. (Live webcast: 9 a.m. EDT | 1 p.m. GMT | 2 p.m. CET.)
March 25 - Innovative Leaps in FTIR Technology - Introducing the Next Generation of Handheld FTIR for Non-Destructive Materials Analysis. (Live webcast: 11 a.m. PDT | 1 p.m. CDT | 2 p.m. EDT.)

Request Info


Company website

Agilent Technologies
profile photo

Sarah Thomas
Editorial Assistant