Editorial Article: FREE WEBINAR: Discover the Benefits of Flow Injection Analysis Tandem Mass Spectrometry (FIA-MS/MS) for Newborn Screening

16 Mar 2018


Neonatal screening is an opportunity for clinicians to identify newborns at risk of developing certain genetic diseases before they manifest, and therefore provide earlier treatment interventions. Some of the disorders screened for at birth include sickle cell disease, cystic fibrosis, phenylketonuria and other metabolic disorders. Whilst these are rare, the treatment of those infants diagnosed early can prevent severe disability or fatality later in life.

Flow injection analysis tandem mass spectrometry (FIA-MS/MS) has revolutionized our approach to newborn screening for metabolic disorders, since it enables a spectrum of diseases to be screened for in a single run. This technique is gradually replacing more traditional methods such as the Guthrie test for phenylketonuria, limited by their low throughput and ability to screen for a single disease only.

In this upcoming educational webinar, you will learn the benefits of this sensitive, multi-analyte platform in the clinical laboratory. Expert speakers from the Inherited Metabolic Diseases Laboratory, at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, Canada, will discuss the details of mass spectrometer scans relevant to screening and address common challenges faced when analyzing dried blood spot samples. CHEO is responsible for the screening of over 140,000 newborns each year.

In this webinar, you will learn about:

  • The impact of monitoring mass accuracy
  • Mass spectrometer scans key to screening applications: multiple reaction monitoring, neutral loss scanning, and precursor ion identification
  • Common trouble-shooting approaches
  • Key post-analytical activities that should be followed
  • The benefits of monitoring and changing response factors for analytical accuracy

 

WHAT: Flow Injection Analysis Tandem Mass Spectrometry (FIA-MS/MS) in the Clinical Laboratory: Lessons from Newborn Screening Ontario (NSO)
WHEN: Monday, March 26, 2018
Time: 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST
Reserve a space here >>

 

If you can’t make it to the live event, don’t worry, register here to watch the webinar on demand at a time that suits you