Editorial Article: Free Webinar - Diagnosis and Prevention of Clostridium Difficile Infection (CDI)

20 Sep 2017


In this free webinar, Dr. Erik Dubberke, Associate Professor of Medicine at Washington University school of medicine, will give a presentation detailing the diagnosis and prevention of the Clostridium Difficile infection (CDI).

Registration for the online event on Thursday, September 28, is now open - if you can’t attend the webinar, you’ll receive a link for you to watch when you can.

The incidence and severity of Clostridium Difficile infection (CDI) has increased dramatically since 2000. In 2011, there were 453,000 CDI cases in the US associated with over 29,000 deaths. The clinical microbiology laboratory plays a critical role in identifying patients who have CDI, and therefore also the initiation of preventive measures. At the end of the webinar, participants will understand how CDI impacts patients, how to optimize CDI diagnosis, and how to prevent CDI.

The webinar will focus on the importance of C. difficile infection on patient outcomes, whilst evaluating the advantages and disadvantages of existing C. difficile diagnostic assays. Dr. Dubberke will also describe the role of the microbiology laboratory in the prevention of C. difficile infection.

Register now for the live event on Thursday, September 28, 2017- 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT - or receive the link to watch later at your leisure »